HELP!! I'm a Newbie!! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Wheels & Tires

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-27-2006, 09:32 AM   #1

Region: Michigan
HELP!! I'm a Newbie!!

Just picked up an '93 LX 5.0 convertible , I want to put at least 17", if not 18" wheels. But, the car will be riding on 1.5" lowering springs. Please help me avoid any high $ mistakes. What fits, what doesnt?
catskills is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-27-2006, 10:49 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular

Region: Alabama
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: HELP!! I'm a Newbie!!

the main issue is who much rim you can fit under the fender. You CAN run 9 inch wide rims front and back but they WILL rubb a bit and if you run the right size tires they will rub quite a good bit. I would stick with 8 inches wide for rims in the front and 9 inches wide for rims in the back (this will eliminate your rotating ability so you will need to keep alignments good etc etc (aka use GREAT cc plates not POS ones and NO you cant align the car with out them on a 1.5 inch drop wtih out getting getto or something))

The other issue you will face is the tire hitting the top of the fender (on fox bodies) this is a problem~ stiff springs will eliminate this usually if the tire sticks out enough to potentially hit. Backspacing determins how far the rim sits out from under the fender well so I would try to stick with 5.95 or less backspacing (03 cobra rims are 6.11 and 95 cobra r's are 5.95 (oem at least)

even 5.95 might stick out a tad to far~ if you look at OEM 17x8 mustang GT rims from 94-04 those would probably work really good in the front.
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote