TPMS Question - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Wheels & Tires



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-27-2015, 03:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
TPMS Question

I read a few other posts on TPMS but still a little confused.
I'm planning on picking up some 19 inch GT wheels+tires off craigslist but I asked the guy and it doesn't have the sensors. He wants 475 for them and with minor curb rash and good tread I think it's a good price.
So my question is can and should I run without them or move over the ones I have on my stock 17s? Will taking them off significantly reduce the value of my 17s?
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2015, 03:54 PM   #2
Staff

Regular
Staff
 
Strange Mud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Small Town
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 5,022
you can run w/o them...you'll get a pop up msg in the info center which can be cleared by the reset button. You will also have a light on the dash which I cover with painters tape.

define significant...the value for 17's is not much at all. The hassle with moving is cost (mount & re balance x 4) and a chance for the tire shop to damage your stuff. I have two sets Summer onlys and Neros. In the winter I just deal with the light/reset button.
__________________
2012 V6 with suspension, shifting, stopping and sound mods.
Strange Mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 05:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
Will you get the message on every start up? I wouldn't mind black tape for the light on the dash but I think a chime and/or message every time would be a little annoying.
I have no idea what around what would be the cost for mounting my current sensors over, so if it is costly then it looks like I'll be running without them.
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2015, 05:24 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Yes you will get a message on every start up.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 06:20 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
jek57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 500
I just put 18s on mine and i got some tpms from ebay for a good price had my garage put them on and they work great.
jek57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 06:55 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by jek57 View Post
I just put 18s on mine and i got some tpms from ebay for a good price had my garage put them on and they work great.
Are they universal or specific to the car? And what's the process with installing them and getting it synced?

Sorry I never dealt with this before
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 08:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
jek57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 500
You can get them for your yr of mustang . I paid 29.00 a piece for mine and had my garage install them on my rims with the tires and most places have the device to sync them they work great and no annoying dash lights .
jek57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 08:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
OK sounds good thanks for the info. I was wondering if moving over my current sensors wouldnt be too big of a deal, I'll have to check with a local tire place to check prices.
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 04:38 AM   #9
Staff

Regular
Staff
 
Strange Mud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Small Town
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 5,022
+1 on every time.....but it's a simple button press to clear it. See how much a shop will charge but I would be surprised if after buying sensors and paying for install/balancing it's less than $120.

I admit to being cheap
__________________
2012 V6 with suspension, shifting, stopping and sound mods.
Strange Mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 05:47 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
I just bought a set of 4 OEM sensors on EBAY for $44.00 shipped. The OEM ones are self learning and don't require anything additional.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 08:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item...d=161604693253


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:58 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
Thanks a lot for the info and link, so these are just installed and automatically sync up?
That should be cheaper than removing the ones off my 17s and getting 8 tires mounted and balanced.
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 12:11 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
There is a tool they use to sync them but the shop should be able to do it.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 03:17 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116

Just picked them up, everything looks good. I should call tire places and ask if they have that tool to sync the sensors before ordering them.
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 05:15 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
BPrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 62
If not u can puchase the tool from AM or late model restoration for like 40 dollars or less. I just got new 19 wheels and tires and the sensors were premounted and I was able to sync sensors with tool I bought easily. It only took a matter of minutes, very easy

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
BPrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 06:31 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
One Pep boys suggested moving the sensors over, mounting and balancing 8 wheels(old set of wheels as well) would be $19x8 so about $152.
Another said theyll mount and balance for $14 each and sync new sensors for a total of $15.
I could probably buy the sensors on ebay and only get my new wheels mounted and balanced for less. Thanks everyone for the help.
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 06:33 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
They have to be synced when put on your vehicle. I don't think you can have two sets synced to the vehicle at one time but I could be wrong.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 06:44 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles76 View Post
They have to be synced when put on your vehicle. I don't think you can have two sets synced to the vehicle at one time but I could be wrong.


Rollin' in my 5.0
Alright, it looks like ill be buying the new sensors from ebay and getting them synced to my new wheels. My 17s will still have the sensors and the overall cost should be cheaper this way. Thanks!
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 08:00 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
jek57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 500
I still have the old sensors on my 16' tires and rims ..The new ones worked good on my new 18" tires and rims they synched no problem .
jek57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 01:07 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Labrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 207
You can get a sync'ing tool from AM for about 30 bucks
Labrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 09:52 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
Already ordered the sensors, a local Discount Tire said they'll be able to sync them + mount and balance all 4 wheels for a little over $80.
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 10:41 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Labrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 207
I deal with Discount Tire all the time. Good people for the most part. But to have the sync'ing tool just to have is nice. But I'm a tool junkie and do most of my own work so it'd nice to have the right tool on hand.
Labrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 01:26 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
So discount tire charged a total of $60 for the whole job! Didn't even charge to sync the sensors.

Its raining so it's dirty right now but I think the car looks so much better. Thanks again for the help guys.
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 03:32 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Labrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vystrel View Post
So discount tire charged a total of $60 for the whole job! Didn't even charge to sync the sensors.

Its raining so it's dirty right now but I think the car looks so much better. Thanks again for the help guys.
Looks good! Yeah, Discount Tire is a pretty good organization to deal with. I generally buy my tires from them, but as of late I've bought from AM as I bought a set of chrome wheels and tires when I purchased my stang and then again when I changed to a different theme. I have a black and red theme.
Labrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 06:42 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
2014SGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: def
Region: Mexico
Posts: 156
I was advised to swap my existing TPMS over when I had my Track Pack wheels mounted so that is what I did. Cost me $50 plus tax for the labor. Pretty simple. They let the air out, pushed the old tire down to access the TMPS. Unscrewed the sensor, then reversed the process on the Track Pack wheels. The owner told me the inexpensive TPMS sensors usually last about 2 years but the OEM ones go as much as 6 years before the batteries cause issues.
2014SGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 07:15 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
jek57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 500
Your rims looks good on your car .Glad it worked out good for ya!
jek57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 07:54 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vystrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Labrat View Post
Looks good! Yeah, Discount Tire is a pretty good organization to deal with. I generally buy my tires from them, but as of late I've bought from AM as I bought a set of chrome wheels and tires when I purchased my stang and then again when I changed to a different theme. I have a black and red theme.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jek57 View Post
Your rims looks good on your car .Glad it worked out good for ya!
Thanks, appreciate the comments

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2014SGM View Post
I was advised to swap my existing TPMS over when I had my Track Pack wheels mounted so that is what I did. Cost me $50 plus tax for the labor. Pretty simple. They let the air out, pushed the old tire down to access the TMPS. Unscrewed the sensor, then reversed the process on the Track Pack wheels. The owner told me the inexpensive TPMS sensors usually last about 2 years but the OEM ones go as much as 6 years before the batteries cause issues.
The sensors I ordered are the OEM ones, so hopefully won't have short battery life
__________________
2011 3.7L Ingot Silver
Vystrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > Mustang Wheels & Tires

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS question Davey13GT 2011-2014 Mustang GT 4 04-26-2013 02:23 AM
Tpms question Tpost08 2011-2014 Mustang GT 3 02-18-2013 08:51 PM
TPMS question Yuckooo13 Mustang Wheels & Tires 8 01-05-2013 07:44 AM
2013 (another TPMS) flat tire question / thought / boo on the goo! Twinarrow99 2011-2014 Mustang GT 10 05-26-2012 01:30 PM
tpms question 07stang 2005-2010 Mustang GT 6 01-01-2010 12:35 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:01 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.