Car won't start - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-30-2004, 12:20 PM   #1
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
Car won't start

over the last couple of weeks my car has been giving me problems starting. to be more specific, It would not start. I kept on thinking I had to go by a new battery. well today my car is dead. So I am going to get a new battery. My questions are: What brand battery u guys recomend, and should I get something else. I know I probably need to change the spark plugs. They've been there for 66000 miles. How do I know all I need is a new battery and not have any other problems (ie:starter)? the only way my car will start is if if someone gives me a jump start, and then when I turn it off, it won't start again.
please help!!
Thanks
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2004, 12:47 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Once you get is started can you unhook the battery and the car continue to run? If so, it's the battery, if not..it's the alternator. From what you are describing it's probably a little bit of both. But mostly the battery if it won't hold a charge
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 12:53 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
It continues to run. I got to work today after jump starting it. but whe i got here. I turned it off, tried to start it again and it was dead.
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2004, 12:54 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
It's your battery then. Put a new battery in the thing and see how it does. If nothing else, pull a battery out of someone else's car and then start your car with that. If you have an amp meter you can check and make sure your amp is able to charge a battery, I'm not exactly sure what the charge should be..but I'm sure someone on here knows. I'd go get a reading from mine..but it's pouring down rain here
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 01:30 PM   #5
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Yea it sounds like your battery. if you can get it to Autozone or a place like that they can test it out for you free.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 01:52 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
I would go to Auto Zone and have it checked like Brent said then Go to Walmart and get a Everstart Battery model # 58-3N (the model for Mustangs) for $40,00. They are really good batteries and with a great warranty (2 years free replacement no prorate)and good cranking amps for extreme cold or hot weather.
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:14 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
Sounds good,
thanks guys. I'll change the battery and hopefully won't have anymore problems
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 08:58 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
OK, so I got the new battery, put it in and the car won't start. I'm like WTF!, so guess what ; u know that loop thing that conects the wire to the battery? it is broken . I did not see it when I put the battery in 'caus it is so damm dark outside. Anyway. I'm guessing that is what is causing no power to go through. will have to go in the morning to get one of those loopythingys (whatever they are called) ,Any tips on how to change that.can't be too complicated.
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:09 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
jimmy_beaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Region: Iowa
Posts: 2,037
Send a message via AIM to jimmy_beaner Send a message via MSN to jimmy_beaner Send a message via Yahoo to jimmy_beaner
is there just some kind of screw holding a bunch of wires to it? It can't be that easy... I'll just start out by saying, I have no idea.... and I'm going to leave it to someone that knows a lot more than me
__________________

SOLD! 2002 Sonic Blue GT, 5 Speed
Mods: MGW Short Throw Shifter, Mach 1 Brakes
Hypercoated Saleens, Eibach Pro-Kit, Bilstein shocks/struts, Borla Exhaust, Steeda Wing, 03 Cobra hood, Cobra mirrors, 03 Cobra Front Bumper, smoked fogs/headlights, 03 Cobra side skirts, Grill Delete, Mach C-pillars
jimmy_beaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:11 PM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6STANG007
OK, so I got the new battery, put it in and the car won't start. I'm like WTF!, so guess what ; u know that loop thing that conects the wire to the battery? it is broken . I did not see it when I put the battery in 'caus it is so damm dark outside. Anyway. I'm guessing that is what is causing no power to go through. will have to go in the morning to get one of those loopythingys (whatever they are called) ,Any tips on how to change that.can't be too complicated.
Are you talking about the fuseable link wire ???????
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:28 PM   #11
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
Are you talking about the fuseable link wire ???????
lol dude I do not know what I'm talking about. here:
(and I know it is dirty. I was going to clean it)
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:33 PM   #12
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6STANG007
lol dude I do not know what I'm talking about. here:
(and I know it is dirty. I was going to clean it)
That would be why your car isnt starting
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:33 PM   #13
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Hell your battery terminal clamp is fried !!!!
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:39 PM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
haha, thanks. that is what I said my terminal loopy clamp thingy is fried. now how do I change it. lol
And another question: should i keep the new battery?
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:41 PM   #15
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6STANG007
haha, thanks. that is what I said my terminal loopy clamp thingy is fried. now how do I change it. lol
And another question: should i keep the new battery?
Change it out first and see if you car starts fine with the old battery. I'm pretty sure your old battery is fine.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:44 PM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
If I don't get at least a hint on how to do this. I'm just going to cut the wires and put them back together with electrical tape
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:45 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
SilverStang96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to SilverStang96
Since you already went through the trouble of buying a new battery, i would keep it... but that is up to you. Secondly, You should just be able to take the clamp off and put the new one back on there.
SilverStang96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:47 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
SilverStang96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to SilverStang96
Have you tried taking the nut off the bottom of the bolt???
SilverStang96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:49 PM   #19
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
I think you have to buy the whole cable.... autozone would sell it or any autoparts store. Just tll them what happened and they will tell you what you need
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:49 PM   #20
Registered User
 
01mineralgrey6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,715
Send a message via AIM to 01mineralgrey6
youll have to cut the old clamp off the wire. strip back the insulation, and install the new clamp.depends on the kind you get, you can get some you have to solder on, some that crimp on, and then some that just bolt on.you can get them at wal mart for like $2
__________________
-Tony
'99 cobra 'vert
01mineralgrey6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:49 PM   #21
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01mineralgrey6
youll have to cut the old clamp off the wire. strip back the insulation, and install the new clamp.depends on the kind you get, you can get some you have to solder on, some that crimp on, and then some that just bolt on.you can get them at wal mart for like $2
crimping that gauage wire wouldnt be fun.. I suggest the bolt lol
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:50 PM   #22
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverStang96
Since you already went through the trouble of buying a new battery, i would keep it... but that is up to you. Secondly, You should just be able to take the clamp off and put the new one back on there.
that's what I thought. Ithought by removing the bolt, I could remove the clamp, but the bolt is stuck in there.

*oh yeah just an FYI Corey, the model for the Everstart battery was 58-3s, but your post was most helpful, didn't have to look around much.
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:54 PM   #23
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
ok then, cutting the clamp off the wire it is, and make sure its the kind u bolt on, thanks a lot guys.
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 10:01 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
SilverStang96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to SilverStang96
Yeah thats the way i had to do mine, when i was installing my system mine broke... I went to walmart bought one, cut the wires, strip the ins. off, twisted them where they would be tight, and then clamped the wires in the terminal.. presto.
SilverStang96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 10:05 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
SilverStang96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to SilverStang96
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6STANG007
ok then, cutting the clamp off the wire it is, and make sure its the kind u bolt on, thanks a lot guys.

Let us know if it works out.
SilverStang96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 10:38 PM   #26
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6STANG007
*oh yeah just an FYI Corey, the model for the Everstart battery was 58-3s, but your post was most helpful, didn't have to look around much.
Might be different between S and N is the year of the car Who knows !!
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 11:35 PM   #27
Registered User
 
01mineralgrey6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,715
Send a message via AIM to 01mineralgrey6
i was told its North and South i don't know our books at work say N, but the batteries themselves say S who knows
__________________
-Tony
'99 cobra 'vert
01mineralgrey6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 07:33 AM   #28
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
it's alive! it's alive. lol.
I'm keeping the new battery. I also bought some autolite plugs, I'll get those done as soon as I have some time. For now, Im happy I can drive my car. The insulation would not go back exactly the way it was. Is it ok if I enforce it with electrical tape? I could not find anything else.
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 11:37 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
SilverStang96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to SilverStang96
Perfectly fine..
SilverStang96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2004, 08:08 AM   #30
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
V6STANG007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to V6STANG007 Send a message via Yahoo to V6STANG007
:d
__________________
Jorge ~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
OK you are right!!! Maybe I am the Old Crazy One
V6STANG007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 06:59 PM   #31
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MonteCitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: California
Posts: 2,506
Send a message via AIM to MonteCitan
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn
Once you get is started can you unhook the battery and the car continue to run? If so, it's the battery, if not..it's the alternator. From what you are describing it's probably a little bit of both. But mostly the battery if it won't hold a charge

that test works great for older cars, but in newer cars it can cause a voltage spike that can fry the processor, I've seen it happen, and I've seen warning labels on many different publications saying the same thing..

as for spark plugs at 66k, you should be fine for a while longer, but it can't hurt to change the plugs
MonteCitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 07:07 PM   #32
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
O...didn't know that lol. Most of the cars I work on are mid-90's and older lol
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car won't start? Dude87 1996-2004 Mustang GT 16 10-13-2008 12:32 PM
Car Won't Start joseandmarilyn 1979-1995 Mustang GT 11 02-18-2008 01:22 PM
Car won't start Torchred02 1996-2004 Mustang GT 9 02-18-2007 02:17 PM
SO you expect to start your car up... PureVenom Pictures and Videos 17 01-31-2007 03:31 PM
Should I start modding this car? mustang99vert Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 10-24-2004 10:50 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



06:58 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.