The dreaded p0411 Error Code - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Join Mustang Evolution Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-27-2009, 04:47 PM   #1

MaxonMustang is unknown around these parts
Exclamation The dreaded p0411 Error Code

Hey guys total NooB here,

Check Engine Light Problem! Need Help! (2000 V-6 3.8L)

I've taken my car to multiple part suppliers (Autozone, Advanced...etc) and the only error code that their machine comes up with is the dreaded p0411 error message which translates to "Secondary Air Injection System Flow Improper".

I then ran the onboard Odometer switch activated diagnostics check and it came up with two DTC Error Messages:

DTC-9318 (Battery Voltage Low) I know, I know, I have needed a battery for awhile)
DTC-5284 (Oil Pressure Switch failure)

Worst of all, the check engine light came on the day after I bought the car used (Or 150 miles after I tripped the comp to hit the light---dirtbags)

What I really need to know is if a low-battery will trigger these error messages? Could it be that simple? I have looked into the p0411 error code and it seems to have been plaguing Mustangs since early 04 on some posts. I've got the auto parts stores machines telling me one thing, the onboard diagnostics another...) Can someone help me before 5-31-2009 when my NYS Inspection is due? (They won't pass vehicles w/ the CEL on) Thanks!!

Old 04-27-2009, 05:53 PM   #2
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular

PureVenom is unknown around these parts
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Re: The dreaded p0411 Error Code

On board diagnostics are different from the scanner diagnostics. Those on board ones don't mean anything important, if they did, there would be an error light somewhere. They are not influencing your P code.