I really have no idea!?! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-14-2009, 05:24 PM   #1

I really have no idea!?!

So I have a 2001 Stang (V6 5speed manual).....took it in because of this "rattle" (which I thought was valve rattle)....ok so I'm not a mechanic, and clearly have no idea! So took it in to the shop again....anyways, long story short, $5000 later, it's burnt up wires causing a misfire and catcon is gone.

Burnt up wires were replaced, and now needing advice on catcon issues. Being that times are hard, money is tight, how soon does this repair need to be done? Will fuel additives help at all? I know the rattle won't go away until the catcon is replaced....but in the meantime, what should I do?
RavenLox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2009, 08:57 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
Re: I really have no idea!?!

took me about 5 min to figure out what a catcon was If its running ok now you've got a little time. I've seen them last for years once they break loose and start rattling. But i've also had a cougar that lasted about 6 days before it plugged up the exhaust and quit running. Prob not what you wanted to hear but its a crap shoot trying guess how long it will last. Just keep a close eye (ear) on how your car runs and drives. It will start getting worse idle, different sound, and acceleration will diminish.
Old 06-14-2009, 09:35 PM   #3

Thanks! Yeah...it was running like crap on wheels before....hence the many shop visits. Every time I took it in, they had some other lame excuse as to the mystery rattle. After the last visit in March....they told me it was the A/C compressor.....Ok like I said, I'm not a mechanic, but I also did not fall off the turnip truck yesterday.