Need help making a decision - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-02-2005, 07:23 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
Send a message via AIM to I_luv_HP&trq Send a message via MSN to I_luv_HP&trq
Question Need help making a decision

Hey i have a 99 V6 stang that needs more power. My engine is stock and i'd like to get a stage 3 power package from supersixmotorsports. The cost is around $2,200.... I know for sure i want to keep my car for as long as possible since i can't afford to buy another car and upgrade it. My car has 65,000 miles and running ok.
My question is......Would it be better to save my money for the crate engine ($5,800) or just add on the power packages as i go?? I'm not a mechanic so i can't do all of the installs myself which means i'd have to pay to have the engine hoisted a couple of times before i'm done with what i want, and i'm sure that won't be cheap. I'm a student so i can't work full time and i don't want to spend a ton of money but still want something reliable and of good quality.
Maybe if someone could list the pro's and con's of the power packages v.s. getting the whole engine at once. I don't know all the details because i haven't done something like this so i don't know how hard any of these options will be.
I figure if i'm gonna spend a few thousand bucks getting these packages seperately i mind as well get the whole engine but i can't make up my mind.
or maybe if you know where i could build an engine up for less that would be great too. my stang is a daily driver and need to be careful of emissions since i'm in California. thanks for your help.
I_luv_HP&trq is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-02-2005, 07:46 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular

Region: Alabama
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV