MPH gauge isn't working???wtf?? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-27-2005, 09:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
I_luv_HP&trq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Region: California
Posts: 563
Send a message via AIM to I_luv_HP&trq Send a message via MSN to I_luv_HP&trq
MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

allright to finish off my wonderful evening i realized my spedometer was stuck over at 125. i had just jump started my car but other then that haven't had any other problems with the car today. however the last 2 times i jumped my car today the trip meter went back to 0. i don't know if this is related to the gauge or not. also when i turned the car off the needle stayed over on the 125 side. all other gauges are acting normal.
please help.
__________________

99 Cobra: flowmasters, 18x9.5 cobra R's, soon to be tuned and geared. daily driver
99 V6:in avatar, Mac Cai, true duals/flowmaster 40's ,UDP, custom tuned, bullitt suspension 18" wheels...taken by mother nature
I_luv_HP&trq is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2005, 09:25 PM   #2
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

All I know is make sure the battery is connected well..

Try the gauge trick if you know it. Press the trip reset button for five seconds, move key to accessory position, leaving the trip reset button down. The odometer should read "test" or something, i forget. let go then and crank the car.

You can push the trip reset button to cycle through the options, there is one that says "Gauge" and it flips all the needles all the way over and back again.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 09:38 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

My speedo has starting sticking some....it's quite annoying.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2005, 09:39 PM   #4
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

Yeah, so does mine, but he didn't mention gauge overlays.

btw, that gauge thing i just posted about only works on newer mustangs, i don't think it does on 05s.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 09:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
I_luv_HP&trq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Region: California
Posts: 563
Send a message via AIM to I_luv_HP&trq Send a message via MSN to I_luv_HP&trq
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

you guys are awesome. it worked. what a relief.
i had to scroll through aprox. 20 codes or so to get to gauges. should i be concerned about the codes? lots of weird abbreviations and numbers.
anyways thanks for the quick help. i was about to **** a brick.
__________________

99 Cobra: flowmasters, 18x9.5 cobra R's, soon to be tuned and geared. daily driver
99 V6:in avatar, Mac Cai, true duals/flowmaster 40's ,UDP, custom tuned, bullitt suspension 18" wheels...taken by mother nature
I_luv_HP&trq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 10:02 PM   #6
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

No, all that's normal.

NP.

Coolest thing about it is a digital readout of tach and speedo is possible with it.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 10:11 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
I_luv_HP&trq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Region: California
Posts: 563
Send a message via AIM to I_luv_HP&trq Send a message via MSN to I_luv_HP&trq
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

i also saw something that looked like the oil temp and one that's a guestimate of how far i could go on my tank of gas. the oil one i'm not sure if it's a dummy thing or not in the read out.
why the hell doesn't Ford have easier access to this information? it would be cool to have all that displayed on a little screen that you could scroll through.
__________________

99 Cobra: flowmasters, 18x9.5 cobra R's, soon to be tuned and geared. daily driver
99 V6:in avatar, Mac Cai, true duals/flowmaster 40's ,UDP, custom tuned, bullitt suspension 18" wheels...taken by mother nature
I_luv_HP&trq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 10:29 PM   #8
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

Yeah, the fuel thing is in some odd units that isn't useful. Never had a reason to pay attn to a more specific oil guage in my stock car, haha.

I do enjoy the speedometer on long road trips though. You will notice that it reads a mph or two lower than your gauge does.
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 04:20 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
maaudio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Region: Illinois
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to maaudio81 Send a message via Yahoo to maaudio81
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

go to www.mustangworld.com they have a how to thing on how to reset the guages and test them
__________________
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y15.../AUDIOSIG1.jpg
mods
diablo programmer
diablo chip
true dual flowmaster exhuast
CAI
headmen headers (shorties)
leather seats
5% window tint all around
97 cobra rear sway bar
97 cobra strut tower brace
future mods
5 spd swap
lambo doors
ud pulleys
performance intake
dual turbo kit
70 mm throtle body
75 mm maf sensor
1/4 mile time 14.42@98.9 mph
maaudio81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 06:58 PM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: MPH gauge isn't working???wtf??

Uh.......already done man....try reading a post lol
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gas gauge stopped working! please help! ugafan_1207 1979-1995 Mustang GT 18 01-14-2011 01:18 AM
speedometer and gas gauge not working?? rob913 1979-1995 Mustang GT 0 07-03-2010 09:00 AM
Gauge Wire Routing w/CDC gauge pod tripod_2005 2005-2010 Mustang GT 13 04-30-2010 12:46 PM
Temp Gauge not working? BILLFORD01 1996-2004 Mustang GT 5 08-06-2009 12:04 PM
digital MPH??? jimmy_beaner Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 8 08-31-2004 03:13 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:48 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.