how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip?? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-06-2006, 01:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Indiana
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to Murph00
how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

I have a 2000 v-6 5 speed mustang...and was wonderin' if anyone knows how to remove the Speed limiter. If anyone can help I would appriciate it.
Murph00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2006, 01:27 AM   #2
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

Only way is with a tuner or chip
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 01:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Indiana
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to Murph00
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

some one told me about finding the ecu pinout and possibly breaking the circuit of the vss?? can this be done or no?
Murph00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2006, 01:59 AM   #4
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

No idea about all that... Do you go faster than 115 enough to warrant messing around with something like that and possibly screwing the computer up?

I know you probably don't want to hear that but honestly is it worth the risk?
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 02:03 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Indiana
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to Murph00
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

honestly Im pissed because an old olds beat my *** on the highway.... thats were this comes in.. no i dont go that fast alot i'd just like to go faster when needed
Murph00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 02:13 AM   #6
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

I'd just save up for a chip if you want to go faster than that. I just know what happens when you start screwing with things just to save money. If something goes wrong.. you are screwed more than someone beating you on the highway.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 02:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

you could get a speed cal, and program it to say 4.56 gears it will let you run to a much higher speed, but your needle will be saying like maybe 60 when you are going 100. and you will put less miles on the odometer.
but i would not suggest doing this.
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 02:24 AM   #8
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

the Speedcal is still 100 dollars.. save up and buy a chip
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 02:41 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
the Speedcal is still 100 dollars.. save up and buy a chip
yeah, dude any way why the **** would you need to go over 115 mph, i hope you have a nice suspension and some nice tires.
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 11:30 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

you dont need to go over 115mph sorry.... dont do stupid stuff like that
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 11:35 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Region: Indiana
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to Murph00
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

i dont do it often. but i was just wondering thx guys
Murph00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 03:34 PM   #12
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

Haha, yeh, just get a chip. I did, greatest investment I've made in the car I think
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 07:28 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 246
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

Notice how when you are stopped the rev limiter is at 4000rpm? if you disconnected the speed sensor the same thing would happen.

The only way is a chip or flasher.
__________________
Justin Starkey
2007 Shelby GT500 705RWHP/708RWTQ
2000 Mustang 3.8 A4 TT 450RWHP/475RWTQ 10.996@127 17psi stock 3.8
2006 F250 CC 4x4 6.0L 14.3 @ 93
2006 Mustang 4.0 M5 Vortech 13psi 395RWHP/374RWTQ wife's car
justin00stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 07:17 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
I_luv_HP&trq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Region: California
Posts: 563
Send a message via AIM to I_luv_HP&trq Send a message via MSN to I_luv_HP&trq
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

I have the schematics from All data. I don't know if you can just pull out fuse number 17 or what.
I don't know if that's related to the speed sensor Justin is talking about or what else would happen trying to disable that circuit.
I wouldn't screw with it, but you got me curious on if it can be done.

....well the attachment doesn't work but the fuse in position 17 says "Speed control Servo, Shift Lock Actuator"
__________________

99 Cobra: flowmasters, 18x9.5 cobra R's, soon to be tuned and geared. daily driver
99 V6:in avatar, Mac Cai, true duals/flowmaster 40's ,UDP, custom tuned, bullitt suspension 18" wheels...taken by mother nature
I_luv_HP&trq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 11:21 PM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

You wouldn't catch me pulling out a fuse that says anything about shift locking or speed control...
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 11:24 PM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
slvr2000stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,160
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

Speed control servo = cruise control.

Read Justins post.
__________________
Custom Delk motor now DOA
2003 SVT Lightning #1059 of 4270
2000 Vert 4R70W
Only buy from vendors that test and stand behind their products
slvr2000stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 11:48 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
I_luv_HP&trq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Region: California
Posts: 563
Send a message via AIM to I_luv_HP&trq Send a message via MSN to I_luv_HP&trq
Re: how do I remove my 115 mph speed limiter without a chip??

I did read his post If you read mine you'd noticed i referred to his post....... I was just wondering if there was a loop hole someone didn't know about.
I wouldn't start pulling any fuses either but i got curious since i have all the schematics layed out in front of me.
__________________

99 Cobra: flowmasters, 18x9.5 cobra R's, soon to be tuned and geared. daily driver
99 V6:in avatar, Mac Cai, true duals/flowmaster 40's ,UDP, custom tuned, bullitt suspension 18" wheels...taken by mother nature
I_luv_HP&trq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I disable my rev limiter. upton7 1996-2004 Mustang GT 33 04-30-2010 01:49 AM
Dual-Stage Rev Limiter blue-saleen Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 12-10-2009 08:00 PM
nitrous and rev limiter 02whitestang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 2 02-12-2004 09:04 PM
Speed Limiter starboarder2004 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 6 02-11-2004 02:14 PM
Rev. Limiter Cut Off Donny B Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 10 12-25-2003 12:25 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:41 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.