I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.) - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-27-2006, 09:02 AM   #1
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Ever time I see someone that does a turbo setup on the V6, they always place the turbo infront of the engine or where the battery was at. How come you never seen any following the HP setup? Does it have to do with the oil lines coming off the turbo?

HP Turbo Setup


TMA Turbo Setup
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2006, 09:55 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

HP setup? sorry not sure what you are getting at.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 12:43 PM   #3
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

HP is a company that tucks the turbos under the front bumper for a more sleeper setup.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2006, 12:53 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Well mostly because HP only does v8's. If you have a v8, you don't have the room to stick them in front of the engine. So you either have to tuck it like that, or remote mount the turbos.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:06 PM   #5
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Just wonder why you don't see alot of people doing it because it looks cleaner.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:45 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

It's a pain to get them lined up just perfectly so that they fit without rattling etc, and also hard to keep up on visual maintanance I would imagine.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:47 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

I also imagine you would have a different bumper, like a Cobra bumper for the room in front there on the inside of it...?
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:55 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

in my engine bay there is NO room for two turbos maybe one if you remove the battey.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 07:38 PM   #9
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Well you have a S/C.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 09:39 PM   #10
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom
Well you have a S/C.
I dont, and i dont have room for 2 turbos
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 11:41 PM   #11
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimStang
I dont, and i dont have room for 2 turbos
You have two more cylinders.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 10:16 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

you also can not put twin turbos in a stock v6's engine bay unless you do some major fabrication. I remember justin doing it, he had to scoot the engine back a good bit to clear em, its nearly enough but... takes some fabricating.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 10:56 AM   #13
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom
You have two more cylinders.
thats the point... people with v8's stick them up there because they dont have the room like you do in a v6 to put it in the engine compartment.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 12:03 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

i want to see my money pit when I pop my hood I dont know about you.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 12:33 PM   #15
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimStang
thats the point... people with v8's stick them up there because they dont have the room like you do in a v6 to put it in the engine compartment.
Yea but why hasn't Andy or Justin made a kit where the turbo fits under the bumper?
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 01:42 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
I_luv_HP&trq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Region: California
Posts: 563
Send a message via AIM to I_luv_HP&trq Send a message via MSN to I_luv_HP&trq
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

one thing about having them that low is that you get issues with your oil return lines. you'd have to run an electric pump. Andy does it his way because it's easier to sell to a bigger market. Less hasstle and no moving around batteries and crap make it more appealing to the customers.
If I had tt's I wouldn't want them in that location due to them being far away from the engine and one small hit in city traffic will destroy an expensive set up.
__________________

99 Cobra: flowmasters, 18x9.5 cobra R's, soon to be tuned and geared. daily driver
99 V6:in avatar, Mac Cai, true duals/flowmaster 40's ,UDP, custom tuned, bullitt suspension 18" wheels...taken by mother nature
I_luv_HP&trq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 02:18 PM   #17
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

its probably a PITA and also if they are gonna make a cool turbo kit then they want to show it off.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 03:08 PM   #18
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom
Yea but why hasn't Andy or Justin made a kit where the turbo fits under the bumper?
Because they dont need to... theres enough room in the engine bay that simplifies the piping and what not to just mount the turbo in there. If there wasnt that extra space that the v6 doesnt fill up, they probably would mount them behind the bumper. Also, it helps in the fact that theres no cutting that you have to do to make it fit.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 03:48 PM   #19
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

ive found some cool images you may want to check out of a twin turbo setup on a 4v cobra motor, and yes they are in front of the engine http://www.mustangevolution.com/gall...ry.php?cat=556
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 08:54 PM   #20
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

They look like T3/T4s huh? That's a lot of boost if it is.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 09:23 AM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

I think a couple ive read about are putting down like 700rwhp/tq on 15psi~ and nearly 1000/1000 on 23-25~
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:40 PM   #22
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Good Lord!
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 02:26 PM   #23
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

i dont know why they want that much power in a street driven car, all its good for is breaking crap and making you buy new tires.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 03:14 PM   #24
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectorV
i dont know why they want that much power in a street driven car, all its good for is breaking crap and making you buy new tires.
Because you can turn it down, the boost that is.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 04:21 PM   #25
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

its for only one reason, showing off/bragging unless you drag race. I wouldnt mind saying I have 700rwhp/tq even though i know its pretty much usless on the street.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 11:14 PM   #26
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
its for only one reason, showing off/bragging
Isn't that the only reason to modify a car?
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 10:11 AM   #27
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

:chin:
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 01:20 PM   #28
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Thomas91169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Region: California
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Thomas91169
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectorV
i dont know why they want that much power in a street driven car, all its good for is breaking crap and making you buy new tires.
if you have the kind of money to build a car with those numbers, breaking things probably isnt a issue, or it was though of and covered as the build progressed(built tranny/rear, etc).

and cmon, its only 1000hp at full throttle/boost. it can be daily driven with no problems whatsoever(as long as the setup is good and maintained properly). im sure under 100mph the car would be very squirrely(if were talking bout 1000hp cobras and such), but over that speed man it would be insane on the freeway late at night with nobody in either direction.
__________________
-Thomas-

1998 Eclipse GST Spyder - 14b turbo | 3" Catback | Evo8 BoV | 170fwhp if that

2003 Redfire Cobra - 448whp/435wtq - Sold
Thomas91169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 04:25 PM   #29
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 5
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom
Ever time I see someone that does a turbo setup on the V6, they always place the turbo infront of the engine or where the battery was at. How come you never seen any following the HP setup? Does it have to do with the oil lines coming off the turbo?

HP Turbo Setup


TMA Turbo Setup
Those are very nice kits, but, they require a bit of modifying to get them to fit. The kits are much more expensive because the ony way to jam those twins in there like that is to essentially replace the entire front suspension. You can run a kit like that twin kit with a new tubular arms, coil over kit etc...that kit can't be mounted on a car with a stock suspension.
Yellow98SVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 10:03 PM   #30
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
DarkShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via AIM to DarkShadow
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

^I don't know about the HP set up but I know for a fact the guy who owns that TMA kit had stock suspension with no modifications. It just takes a lot of engineering. From experience, you do have to do a bit of modifying with the TMA kits, but when you're looking at a project this big, the relocation stuff only takes a coupe hours and nothing is drastic and most of it was able to go right back where it was after the piping was plummed through.
__________________
DarkShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:27 PM   #31
Road Trip!
 
Tbird232ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via AIM to Tbird232ci
Re: I've been wondering about this. (Turbo mount.)

You can fit twin turbos in any engine bay. You have to be willing to move things around. People have been putting twin turbo's in 5.0 mustangs for years, and if you move the battery to the trunk, get rid of some non-important items, and move things around, turbos do fit.

Also, most turbo kits dont have anything to do with the suspension. The only clearance issue with the suspension is the downpipe.
Tbird232ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just wondering upton7 1996-2004 Mustang GT 9 03-25-2009 11:58 PM
Was wondering.... bullitt482 The Bar 107 04-03-2007 09:39 PM
Just Wondering.... bluemustang The Bar 4 10-13-2006 12:40 PM
I was wondering... n8r The Bar 26 09-30-2004 10:19 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



08:58 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.