Both welds blown... :\ - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-26-2006, 11:38 AM   #1

Region: California
Both welds blown... :\

So, I've got a 2001 v-6 (I neglected to mention this in my introduction), and I was on my way to work yesterday, and upon starting my car, I notice that it is noticably louder. I had my music up a little, so I didn't think much of it. "Maybe...I'm crazy, and I just never payed much attention to it before." But when I actually GOT TO WORK, and stepped out of my car, it was unbearably loud.

I checked it out. I came to see that each weld on the exhaust manifolds were broken, at the flanges. So, yesterday, I spent about 3 hours trying to disconnect the manifolds. I'm not too experienced with working on cars, but a guys gotta do what a guys gotta do.

Now, I haven't pulled out the manifolds yet; I've just taken off the nuts. I do have the flanges set aside, though.

Here are the questions: should I get the flanges simply welded back on to the manifolds? Or should I simply buy new ones? If I get them welded back on, how well will they hold? How good is the quality of the manufacturer's weld? Or, should I simply upgrade with headers?

All I'm really looking for is the solution that I'll get the most reliability out of.

Thanks.
Low Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2006, 12:16 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy

Region: Pennsylvania
Send a message via AIM to Kiljosh
Re: Both welds blown... :\