Programmers????? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-23-2007, 12:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Programmers?????

ok i'm totally new at this stuff,and so far you guys have been awesome answering all my dumb questions. What is the deal with these programmers?
Do you buy them then have them programmed?
Do they come programmed?
Can i program one from my puter?
What is a good one to buy for my 3.8 stick stang?
Is it worth buying a used one?
How do i find a place to program a used one,and how much do they charge?
Does it make a huge performance difference?

Sorry bout all the questions but i'm more cofused than usual hahaha
mitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-23-2007, 12:39 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular

Region: Alabama
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Programmers?????

What is the deal with these programmers?
it all depends on what the programmer's programs were setup to do. They can do many things other than just load a program into your computer. They can also allow you to alter some aspects of the vehicle... but nothing super useful in most cases until you are moderatly modified or you have a power adder (supercharger, nos, turbo, etc)

Do you buy them then have them programmed?
Generally you buy them from a vender that puts a program(s) on the programmer to fit your car and your modifications. The programmer just allows you to load the program without having to put a chip in the car and you can alter the program as well

Do they come programmed?
They should come with a program(s) already loaded, just make sure its a good one from a good vender, anyone and throw some garbage in there and say it gives you 400 hp if they wish