Jack stand positioning - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-26-2007, 09:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Pennsylvania
Jack stand positioning

I am going to replace the rotors and pads on the stang and I was just wondering where to place the jack stands so they won't bend or damage anything. I have never used jack stands before so I didn't want to mess anything up. Also, is it a good idea to drain the entire brake system and refill it or just leave it alone. The car is an '00 and has 65,000 miles, I assume the fluid has never been changed.

Thanks!
00stang3.8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-27-2007, 12:03 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy

Region: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Re: Jack stand positioning

There is no need to drain the brake fluid.

Position the jack stands on the rear frame for holding up the rear and the front frame for holding up the front.

Just be sure to bleed the system very well to ensure the best braking possible.
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 12:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

alright thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-27-2007, 12:24 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular

Region: Alabama
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV

If you look under the car on the front you will see the frame rail. it is about 2 inches wide and is about 12 inches in from the side of the car~ this area will be where you want to place the jack stands to hold the front of the car up while you work on it. Just as one other safty measure leave the jack holding up the K member of the car. It would be best to have a hydrolic jack instead of the POS sissor jack that comes in the trunk from the factory.