need lots of advice - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-21-2011, 12:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Florida
Exclamation need lots of advice

i'm a high school student with a red 99, and there are a lot of things i want to do to make it look mean, but without spending a large amount of money. i want most of the mods to my car chrome, i personally don't like black on red unless it's tint. here's what i would like to do and ideas i have:

1. paint my rims - i have the stock 99 rims, thinking about painting them chrome, only problem is, i don't know how (i.e. what kind of paint to use, if they need to be buffed afterwards, etc.)
2. paint the hood scoop and side scoops - they're only plastic so i figure that wouldn't be too hard. again, don't know what kind of paint would be ideal.
3. bumper inserts - i'm willing to spend money on those, but i don't want to spend 20 dollars on vinyls if it's not worth it. would you recommend the metals (around $50) or the vinyl ($20)?
4. exhaust - someone i know who claims to be good with cars says taking out the catalytic converter would make it louder, but i haven't heard that anywhere else. basically, what could i do to my exaust without buying a 400 dollar kit? (i'd also be willing to spring for tail pipes and mufflers)
5. tail light trim - does it really make a car stand out more? i'm really on the fence.

finally, any tips, recommendations, advice you could give to help me out a little bit? anything will be greatly appreciated. thanks, and happy driving
cruisin99coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-21-2011, 02:10 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular

Region: Alabama
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: need lots of advice