radio troubles - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-20-2011, 09:55 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
radio troubles

Still having power loss with my 99 radio/cassette. What other factory cars radios fit in the Mustang, so I can go to Pull-A-Part for a replcement?
mightymav72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2011, 02:24 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymav72
Still having power loss with my 99 radio/cassette. What other factory cars radios fit in the Mustang, so I can go to Pull-A-Part for a replcement?
Just buy a cheap head unit from wallmart or something. I wouldn't be puttin other cars stuff into yours. That's just me
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 02:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
Unless he's like me and want to keep the factory unit.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2011, 03:00 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
If anything I'd stick the Mach 1000 in mine

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:05 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project Pony
If anything I'd stick the Mach 1000 in mine

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
Yah but he said what other cars fit into it. I don't think thats a good idea. Mach 1000 sounds really good
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
Manufacturers use the same head units in multiple vehicles so what he is talking about for instance, is will the same model year explorer or crown Vic work, to increase his chances of finding one at the junkyard

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Kansas
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project Pony
Manufacturers use the same head units in multiple vehicles so what he is talking about for instance, is will the same model year explorer or crown Vic work, to increase his chances of finding one at the junkyard

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
Ok. I get it. Thanks for clearing it up.
__________________
www.petom.biz
Joshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:16 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,635
Easiest way to find out is check an aftermarket radio wiring harness. The package should say what cars it's compatible with. If the harness is the same it should work fine.
Alscobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:05 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
Yes he could, but he ha said about junkyard hunting. If he's just looking for inexpensive or if he wants factory I don't know

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:07 PM   #10
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project Pony
Yes he could, but he ha said about junkyard hunting. If he's just looking for inexpensive or if he wants factory I don't know

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
The harness will let you know what harnesses are compatible. That will let you know what other vehicles the plug will work on.
Alscobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 12:02 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Re: radio troubles

I really like having AM/FM ,XM,CD, and Cassette. Thats why I wanted to keep it factory, plus this is my daily driver V-6 Coupe and I spend the big bucks on my GT. Thanks in advance guys.
mightymav72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:48 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Project Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aiken
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 3,274
I got ya al, good thinking

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Project Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
o2 and exhaust troubles SVT 1996-2004 Mustang GT 4 11-28-2009 07:50 PM
Ghia troubles GhiaGirl Classic Mustangs 1 08-21-2006 08:26 AM
Engine troubles electricstang99 1979-1995 Mustang GT 2 07-06-2005 02:40 PM
Headlight Troubles xtremestang Mustang Audio & Video 14 11-06-2004 07:08 AM
Relationship troubles. MusclesFromBrussels The Bar 3 07-19-2003 03:42 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:15 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.