What could be the draw back to this????? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-30-2011, 11:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Florida
What could be the draw back to this?????

Yo whats up my names rich and this is my first time making a post ever and i just had a question about an experiment i did yesterday, i dnt know if i'm the first didnt really look much into it so i figured i'd ask. I have an 04 v6 with a ssm p/p lower, windstar upper port matched to bbk 65mm throttle and made a longer intake tube so the filter sat in the fender and heat wrapt it,msd wires and some fancy spark plugs my friend got for me have no idea what they are though and some headers off a 97 from the junkyard.The ? at hand is about my exhaust. Before yesterday it consisted of the headers,custom x,and a set of fm 40's and noooooo cat's and it was too loud and in my opinion it sound awful. I went too see quote cats at a local shop and they wanted five hundred bucks for two sooo i was like no way i havent spent even close to that much on anything for my car. So i thought about it and came up with a solution i think..... I wanted to restrict the flow a little bit to put the back pressure back in check so i bought two glass packs for 90 bucks cut the pipe from the bottom of x to the tip of the 40's and welded those bad boys in said cut section. End result........ awesome tone at any range smoother idle and just plain better driving.But what if any could be a possible draw back to this any thought would be greatly appreciated and if it hasn't been discussed you have something new to talk about thanks everyone.
l2plagears is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-30-2011, 01:26 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular

Region: Alabama
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV