98 GT vs 99 V6? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-09-2012, 02:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
98 GT vs 99 V6?

Have a 99 manual V6 and my friend is looking at a 98 GT I think it's an auto. I was researching and I think I could take him! My car weighs 200 lbs less, but has 35 less HP and like 50Lbs of torque, around that atleast. I'm a decent driver and his car being an auto will be a tad but slower from what I've read. My v6 carries 193HP and 225 TQ, plus I got a CAI and chip. His will be stock. He carries about 225 HP and 275 tq I think? What are your guys thoughts if we raced and stuff, who'd win, if not me could I hang, etc?

2003 Mustang GT (Sold)
1999 35th Anniversary V6(SOLD)
V6 stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-09-2012, 02:13 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Regular

Region: Other
He is more like 215hp. Yea should be able to hang in there with good driving and good tires I'd say.
Old 01-09-2012, 02:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

I read they had 215 on the 97 gt, and upped it to 225 on the 98's. I may be wrong tho.

2003 Mustang GT (Sold)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-09-2012, 02:15 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Regular

Region: Other
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6 stang
I read they had 215 on the 97 gt, and upped it to 225 on the 98's. I may be wrong tho.
Ah, hell I maybe wrong lol either way, with his being auto you stand a punchers chance IMO. Be sure to let us know how it turns out!
Old 01-09-2012, 03:40 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Maryland
If i remember right stock they ran 15 and our run 16 auto stock. So with some bolt on should be close
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:26 PM   #6
Road Trip!

Re: 98 GT vs 99 V6?

Ehh you have to look at more then just numbers.