ECU needing replacement after custom tune? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-20-2012, 09:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

I own a '00 v6 and I just went from 3.23s to 3.73s. I love it overall but I have one problem: the RPM gauge just flies and when I'm traveling at highway speeds it always tells me I'm going a least 80 when I KNOW I'm going below 80. I am planning on getting a SCT flash tuner but I've watched some YouTube videos and people have said they had to replace the ECU chip a few weeks after they installed the tune. Why is that? What happens to the chip? Would I have to also if I decide to go for the tune? I really want to get the tune because then I not only get the performance tune but my RPM gauge will also get calibrated for the new 3.73 gears. Thanks in advance
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2012, 10:52 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
Just get the tuner and no worries.
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

so if i were to get the SCT SF/X3 power flash tuner, I won't need to worry about replacing my ECU chip?
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2012, 10:56 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
No worries and did u add a tlock/posi
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:19 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

yep, got it with the 3.73s
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:05 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
Cool have fun with the parts
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 09:08 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Wait lol what does having the posi have anything to do with the tune?
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 09:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
It doesn't I was making sure you added the mods at once
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:51 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Oh ok. I'm actually planning to switch to a better intake too, currently have the AM brand CAI but once I save up enough money, I'm gonna switch to like BBK or SR CAI...
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:10 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
The intakes all do the same the difference is the name,looks and the price
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 05:36 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

so but then why would the difference be so huge between the AM brand and the BBK/SR/Airaid brand?
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 05:48 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Just_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: South Dakota
Posts: 384
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iphonemaster93 View Post
so but then why would the difference be so huge between the AM brand and the BBK/SR/Airaid brand?
The name brand companies blew though a truck load of money proving that their CAI does exactly the same thing that the cheap one from AM does.... so they charge an extra $100-150 to recover their R&D.

Oh you get a different look, and different materials, but at the end of the day, the function is about identical............. LOL
__________________
01 V6 5 spd
Windstar upper, shorty headers, high-flow catted X, American Thunder catback, SCT Tuner, ASP 25% UDP, FRPP T-Lok
Just_John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:06 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

I forgot my other reason for wanting to switch to another CAI was because the CAI I have right now won't pass SMOG testing while the others will, so i'm pretty much comparing a $75 CAI that won't pass SMOG to a like $200 CAI that will pass smog. is it worth buying one that can allow me to pass smog and replace the one I have now?
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:42 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
I would buy it for that
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:44 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

so i can pretty much go for whichever one that i wanna go with, doesn't matter if it's bbk or sr or airaid
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:13 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Just_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: South Dakota
Posts: 384
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

Ohhh I forgot about the CARB number... If AM had theirs certified by CARB it would probably add another $100 to the price
__________________
01 V6 5 spd
Windstar upper, shorty headers, high-flow catted X, American Thunder catback, SCT Tuner, ASP 25% UDP, FRPP T-Lok
Just_John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:53 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

nah, the one i have doesn't have a CARB number, that's why it won't pass smog and that's why i wanna get the other more expensive ones but i'm debating on whether it's worth it or not
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:42 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

what's the difference between this Bama SF3/X3 Power Flash Tuner w/ 3 Free Custom Tunes (99-04 V6) 3015||38018 - Free Shipping! and that SCT SF3 Power Flash Mustang Strategy Tuner (96-11) 3015 - Free Shipping!?
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 08:08 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
The first has custom tunes the second one has what ever is on the tuner
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 10:05 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

even though both are the same price...huh interesting. ok i'm guessing i'm still gonna go with the first one
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 12:15 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 20
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iphonemaster93 View Post
so if i were to get the SCT SF/X3 power flash tuner, I won't need to worry about replacing my ECU chip?
do you have an ecu chip installed?if yes you have to remove that chip from the ecu.ive called them about that and they told me just remove the chip.coz i have diablo chip on my ecu.before the bama programs,like when they just using the programmers without tunes they want you to remove the chip and let the ford dealership put it back to stock tune if you installed the chip.kind of a hustle.
morfhious3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 12:31 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 196
Send a message via Skype™ to iphonemaster93
Re: ECU needing replacement after custom tune?

i have no idea, ever since i bought the car i never touched that area before, just popped open the side kick panel to get the 3 digit letter + 1 digit number and that's it
iphonemaster93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



03:59 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.