Help! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-25-2012, 03:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Help!

I was driving today and every few stops I would make my car would almost refuse to move from the line. I would have to gas in and it wouldn't move at all and when it did it would feel like trying to start a car from the line in 5th gear, extremely sluggish. I have an auto tranny. Has anyone else experienced this? And if so what is it fixed by?
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2012, 04:00 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
joey18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Corona
Region: California
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude
I was driving today and every few stops I would make my car would almost refuse to move from the line. I would have to gas in and it wouldn't move at all and when it did it would feel like trying to start a car from the line in 5th gear, extremely sluggish. I have an auto tranny. Has anyone else experienced this? And if so what is it fixed by?
Have you looked to see if theres any major vacuum leaks?
__________________
joey18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:16 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
How do I check for those?
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2012, 04:24 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
joey18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Corona
Region: California
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude
How do I check for those?
-Turn the engine on
-open the hood
-listen for any air coming out from any where (like a hissing noise)
-if you do hear any thing locate it and you'd need to replace that hose

I had some power loss before and it was that one of my vacuum lines was leaking, i replaced it and it was better.

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:22 PM ----------

If its not that then could be the tranny
__________________
joey18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:25 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Ok thanks. I've been having a popping noise recently that gets faster as the rpms rise. Think that might be a vacuum problem?
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:29 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
ForsakenProto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,143
Im having the same problem as well, but mine is due to badly clogged injectors. Try running some seafoam in the gas tank, and if that doesnt work, some shops offer a service for about $100 that will completely clean out your injection system, as well as remove any build up from your valves and cylinders. Of course this is after youve checked for vacuum leaks
ForsakenProto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
joey18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Corona
Region: California
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForsakenProto
Im having the same problem as well, but mine is due to badly clogged injectors. Try running some seafoam in the gas tank, and if that doesnt work, some shops offer a service for about $100 that will completely clean out your injection system, as well as remove any build up from your valves and cylinders. Of course this is after youve checked for vacuum leaks
Id say do the sea foam no matter what i sea foamed my car last week for the first time, that stuff is awesome!
__________________
joey18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:58 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
I did the seafoam in the gas tank a few weeks ago so I don't think it would benefit by doing that
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:59 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
joey18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Corona
Region: California
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude
I did the seafoam in the gas tank a few weeks ago so I don't think it would benefit by doing that
Did you do it in the vacuum line?
__________________
joey18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 05:01 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by joey18

Did you do it in the vacuum line?
No just in the gas tank. Which line is it for the vacuum line?
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 05:35 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mike SVOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 140
Re: Help!

brake caliper(s) locked up?
Is the car hard to push in neutral?
Jack it up and try to turn the wheels.

and for the love of all that is sane... no more sea foam 'quick-fix' solutions.
__________________
1999 3.8 stang
1990 LX - supercharged 351w
1985 turbo 2.3 www.msvorinich.itgo.com
Mike SVOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 05:39 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
joey18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Corona
Region: California
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude

No just in the gas tank. Which line is it for the vacuum line?
I put it in the pcv valve

---------- Post added at 05:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:38 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike SVOR
brake caliper(s) locked up?
Is the car hard to push in neutral?
Jack it up and try to turn the wheels.

and for the love of all that is sane... no more sea foam 'quick-fix' solutions.
I didnt sea foam my car to fix anything nothing was wrong i simply did it for a cleaning
__________________
joey18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 07:32 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216


This is what my car is doing at idle
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 08:00 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
when was the last time u changed the plugs, wires , and coil pack
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:04 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horseplay
when was the last time u changed the plugs, wires , and coil pack
I got them all changed when I got the car last September
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:35 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Re: Help!

my GT did this...it was an upstream o2 sensor...since it was faulty it was messing the air/fuel mixture up big time.
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:38 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix
my GT did this...it was an upstream o2 sensor...since it was faulty it was messing the air/fuel mixture up big time.
The thing is I don't have any codes :/
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:39 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Re: Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude View Post
The thing is I don't have any codes :/
have it tested anyways to be safe
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:42 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Ok. I just don't want my car randomly dying on me. I gotta get to work lol
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:42 PM   #20
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude
I was driving today and every few stops I would make my car would almost refuse to move from the line. I would have to gas in and it wouldn't move at all and when it did it would feel like trying to start a car from the line in 5th gear, extremely sluggish. I have an auto tranny. Has anyone else experienced this? And if so what is it fixed by?
I've had that on an auto tranny in a Chevy 1500 truck before. The tranny electronics were forcing it to 3rd because there was a fault going on. So in any forward gear, it was always in 3rd no matter what speed. I know that was a Chevy, but the reason I mention it is that it did not make the check engine like come on. The only way I found this out was at a tranny shop.

Also, sometimes low tranny fluid can cause them to do weird things. Hope that helps somehow.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:48 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

I've had that on an auto tranny in a Chevy 1500 truck before. The tranny electronics were forcing it to 3rd because there was a fault going on. So in any forward gear, it was always in 3rd no matter what speed. I know that was a Chevy, but the reason I mention it is that it did not make the check engine like come on. The only way I found this out was at a tranny shop.

Also, sometimes low tranny fluid can cause them to do weird things. Hope that helps somehow.
Ya it does because it feels like my car does that sort of thing. I will be moving forward and I'll be in third or sometimes even fourth only. Even if I am moving from a complete stop

---------- Post added at 10:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:47 PM ----------

And my tranny fluid is alright. I checked that today. Good color and level
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:01 PM   #22
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude

Ya it does because it feels like my car does that sort of thing. I will be moving forward and I'll be in third or sometimes even fourth only. Even if I am moving from a complete stop

---------- Post added at 10:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:47 PM ----------

And my tranny fluid is alright. I checked that today. Good color and level
Can you look and make sure there aren't any damaged plugs or wiring coming from your tranny? Maybe a plug that is covered in oil or something that could cause a short?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:05 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
I'll check tomorrow morning. Truthfully I want it to be a tranny problem so I have an excuse to do a swap
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 10:49 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mike SVOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 140
Re: Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude View Post


This is what my car is doing at idle
Sounds like header gasket leak.
__________________
1999 3.8 stang
1990 LX - supercharged 351w
1985 turbo 2.3 www.msvorinich.itgo.com
Mike SVOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 01:38 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dogbitdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike SVOR

Sounds like header gasket leak.
How can I fix that?
Dogbitdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:24 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Saucywalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 239
Could be a clogged cat
Saucywalnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 10:08 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Re: Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogbitdude View Post
How can I fix that?
just unbolt the manifold and swap the gasket...rebolt and tq down the manifold..
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Members Mustangs

My Shelby

wayneb

TWIT

Twit38
Add your Mustang
» Like Us On Facebook



09:19 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.