Mach 460 issue - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-10-2012, 10:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Mach 460 issue

i got a fun deal today. i traded a guy a spare exhaust i had lying around (just some oem GT over axle tubing) for a CD player, with a wiring harness, and install kit. Now i got it installed and it works fine, but of course i've lost the use of the mach 460 amps. it uses a seperate harness that was plugged into the back of the old unit. now my new HU has RCA hookups on the back. Has anyone figured out how to get the OEM amps to work with an aftermarket unit?

1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2012, 11:49 PM   #2
slow281
Regular
Supporter
 
sixpac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cedar Rapids
Region: Nebraska
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix
i got a fun deal today. i traded a guy a spare exhaust i had lying around (just some oem GT over axle tubing) for a CD player, with a wiring harness, and install kit. Now i got it installed and it works fine, but of course i've lost the use of the mach 460 amps. it uses a seperate harness that was plugged into the back of the old unit. now my new HU has RCA hookups on the back. Has anyone figured out how to get the OEM amps to work with an aftermarket unit?
I have no clue how but I know my blue one had it and the oem amps/ speakers worked 460 sound..
__________________
Need more Horsepower? Add a sticker. Contact me for vinyl stickers pre-made and custom!
Stick on Horsepower <- Click Here and like my Page!
2001 GT - True Blue
2003 V6 - Zinc Yellow
1990 LX 2.3 - project
sixpac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:36 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Re: Mach 460 issue

well my oem 460 head unit had 2 wiring harnesses...the new wiring harness only had one in the box..plus the aftermarket head unit doesn't have another empty harness just some open RCAs
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2012, 06:04 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix
well my oem 460 head unit had 2 wiring harnesses...the new wiring harness only had one in the box..plus the aftermarket head unit doesn't have another empty harness just some open RCAs
Stop in a best but and tell them you need a wiring harness for your year mustang Mach 460 system. It is like $20 and it has 2 separate harnesses that makes it work. I don't remember exactly, but just connect the same colors and your set. I just did mine a few weeks ago do still fresh in my memory.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



02:53 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.