Changing alternator. Should I charge the battery? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-02-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
So I think my Auto Zone alternators aren't powerful enough for the car.

So after my second alternator I got a refund and bought a 110 volt alternator for the car.

Do I need to charge the battery before hooking it up? The battery is a bit run down from the previous alternator failing.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
i would...i never put a low battery on a fresh alternator if i can help it
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Thanks!


It's at about 11.7 right now but better safe than sorry you know?
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2012, 09:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 View Post
Thanks!


It's at about 11.7 right now but better safe than sorry you know?
Yep thats pretty dead..12.0 is 25%,12.2,50%,,12.4 ,75%,,12.6,is fully charged..That would be like cranking your car up and running it wide open,,I would def charge the battery a bit,,I had some problems with their alternators too,,and it was a new one not reman
__________________
mymustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:41 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Another question.


Does it matter if the battery is hooked up to the car or can it be charged by itself?
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:25 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
derekb_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 22
you can charge it by itself
derekb_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:05 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Thanks. I'll probably just do that to keep it separate from the car.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
dwood63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Illinois
Posts: 34
I had my alternator go out on me yesterday on my way to work, the abs light kicked on when I hit the brakes and lights got dim, then the theft light came on and when I pulled into my parking spot at work it died, probably best and worst luck lol, but I got autozone's 110 amp alternator and it works fine $151
dwood63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:48 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
battery can be tested, but if its older may as well
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:59 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Won't hurt to charge up the battery!..
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:33 AM   #11
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
The last alternator I purchased actually had it on a sticker, on the alternator, to make sure the battery is fully charged before operating the car. Maybe there is a break-in period for the alternator where it needs ~12.6V to operate properly.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:13 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
dwood63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: Illinois
Posts: 34
Yeah you don't want to put that much stress on a new alternator
dwood63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:09 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
The battery is very new. I'm just charging it because the old alternator drained it for a little while.

Another question.

When I crank the car with the new alternator and charged battery, how long should it run the first time?

Just crank and shut it off or take it around a bit?

What's the protocol here?
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:33 PM   #14
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 View Post
The battery is very new. I'm just charging it because the old alternator drained it for a little while.

Another question.

When I crank the car with the new alternator and charged battery, how long should it run the first time?

Just crank and shut it off or take it around a bit?

What's the protocol here?
If your battery if fully charged, I don't think I've ever heard of anything other than just carry on with your normal activities.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:02 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
I just got it off the charger and its a little warm.


Is it ok to hook up and run now or should I wait?
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:05 PM   #16
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 View Post
I just got it off the charger and its a little warm.

Is it ok to hook up and run now or should I wait?
Once it cools some, it will be fine. Maybe an hour after it reached full charge.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:01 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
i had to replace my battery and alternator at the same time a couple months ago...luckily i work for a parts house so i just did it in the parking lot on my break
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:36 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Well I cranked it up and everything seems fine. To be sure I'm going to take it back and get everything tested again to be sure.

You'd think changing a battery and alternator wouldn't be such a big deal.

However, this is the third alternator and third battery in a little over a month (counting the original) so I needed to be a little more certain that I was doing everything right.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:50 AM   #19
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 View Post
Well I cranked it up and everything seems fine. To be sure I'm going to take it back and get everything tested again to be sure.

You'd think changing a battery and alternator wouldn't be such a big deal.

However, this is the third alternator and third battery in a little over a month (counting the original) so I needed to be a little more certain that I was doing everything right.
You should be looking at reasons for this to happen because that is not normal. You should check your wiring to the alternator and battery, as well as the ground locations. If you are taking it to a mechanic, I would ask that they look into this.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:31 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Well that's my next step I suppose. I took it to work today and stopped on my way home to get the battery and alternator tested.

It wouldn't even crank for the test.

All I know is there is no short. But apparently there is some sort of drain on the system.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:27 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Well the alternator does work but for some reason it doesn't give a reading when hooked up to the car.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:32 PM   #22
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
There something going on for sure. I would be careful to make sure your new alternator doesn't die.

Anybody else know what he can do to find out where his problem might be? Seems like some kind of a short somewhere to me.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:07 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
is the battery dead during the test? or is it just not starting?
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:37 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dgerow12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: New York
Posts: 502
Make sure the fuse for your alternator isn't blown. That happened to me on my girlfriends car. Put a new alternator on and it still wasn't charging and the fuse was blown
Dgerow12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:34 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Battery and alternator both check out on their own.

Once you changed the fuse, was it ok?
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:59 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dgerow12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: New York
Posts: 502
Yes check the fuse
Dgerow12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:50 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
I'm not sure which fuse to check so I checked them all.

I couldn't find a burnt one so I threw in the towel and took it to the mechanic. I'll let you know what the verdict is.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:04 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Pony_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 326
Sounds like a bad ground or possible relay issue. Good luck, electrical issues can always be a pain. Btw, cables go bad. Usually about the ten year mark, but most don't cause detrimental failure until much later. Ever replace spark plug cables? Testing impedance on the cables and circuits is where I'd go from here.
Pony_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:20 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pony_Boy
Sounds like a bad ground or possible relay issue. Good luck, electrical issues can always be a pain. Btw, cables go bad. Usually about the ten year mark, but most don't cause detrimental failure until much later. Ever replace spark plug cables? Testing impedance on the cables and circuits is where I'd go from here.
Lol. I had a ground cable go out on me in my Monte a few years back!.. It caused my gauges to jump around and act weird!.. It took Three Dealerships and two months to track down what was going on!.. And when they finally did, only ten minutes to fix it!!!.... Lol

Ya anything electrical can be a pain to figure out!...
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:37 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
He's going to start with my gauge cluster. I replaced the factory one a while back and he thinks its possible that the new cluster doesn't have a diode(?) that tells the alternator to charge.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:32 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Pony_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 326
Aftermarket fun! I love these new cars and their integrated can-bus...good luck! Keep us updated!
Pony_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:20 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Well the verdict is in and the new gauge cluster is the culprit!

So I'm in touch with AM about getting either a replacement or refund.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:56 PM   #33
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan02V6 View Post
Well the verdict is in and the new gauge cluster is the culprit!

So I'm in touch with AM about getting either a replacement or refund.
No *****? Well, I know American Muscle will take care of you. They have some great customer service. How long have you had this gauge cluster? Most of all, sorry we could help figure that out sooner.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:35 AM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
I bought it over the summer but didn't install it until the beginning of August.

And yes AM's customer service is top notch. They said have the mechanic fax them a report of the issue and they'll take care of it.

I'm a little afraid to get a new cluster after this. I love the cluster but I'm afraid to go through this again. I guess I'll see what they say....
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 09:28 AM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bryan02V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 79
Well AM stepped up big time.


They sent me a new cluster before getting mine back. Simco wants the cluster back to see what the issue is.

Hopefully the new cluster will solve the problem.
Bryan02V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:02 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.