My car shakes while on idle and driving - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-07-2012, 06:47 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: California
Posts: 4
My car shakes while on idle and driving

Hello everyone,

I am new here and I need help bad! I own a 2000 v6 3.8 mustang and it shakes while its on Idle and driving. I am really stressed out with all the money I've put into it not counting labor and it has not fixed the problem.

So far I've done the following:
Cables
plugs
gas filter
air filter
2 new injectors/ other one's seem to be working fine
weld/sealed headers
new maf sensor
harmonic balancer no more than a year old (bought from ford dealer)
engine motor mounts no more than a year old

Does any one have an idea as to what might me causing this problem. I need help!
Pablo G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2012, 07:11 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
JB_MUSTANG_V6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 110
I had the same problem with my 94 mustang. It shook while idling not so much noticeable while driving though. My problem was in the wiring from the o2 sensors was shorted out from previous mechanic work. Had new wiring done and she smooth as can be now. Hope this might help. Trust me, went through basically all you did also, don't give up on her!!
JB_MUSTANG_V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
twotone01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 420
Do you have any codes or engine light on?
twotone01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-08-2012, 08:58 AM   #4
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: California
Posts: 4
The only code that I got was P0102 (Low output from MAF sensor). I changed the MAF sensor thinking that would fix the problem, but it didnt. Do you think the wire is the one giving out the low output?
Pablo G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:38 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6 stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,252
Vacuum leaks? Some have had bad o2's also that cause this.
__________________
"Hp sells cars, Tq wins races" - Carroll Shelby... RIP
2012 Mustang GT Convertible
Roush Exhaust

2003 Mustang GT (Sold)
1999 35th Anniversary V6(SOLD)
V6 stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:57 AM   #6
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Check your IAC too. (Idle air control valve)
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:37 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
twotone01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablo G.
The only code that I got was P0102 (Low output from MAF sensor). I changed the MAF sensor thinking that would fix the problem, but it didnt. Do you think the wire is the one giving out the low output?
If you could find a way to test the wire to the MAF it might be the cause, could be not getting enough voltage
twotone01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:25 PM   #8
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablo G. View Post
The only code that I got was P0102 (Low output from MAF sensor). I changed the MAF sensor thinking that would fix the problem, but it didnt. Do you think the wire is the one giving out the low output?
Have you recently cleaned your CAI filter (the ones that use oil on them)? This can cause a P0102 code. I know you have a new MAF, but if the filter has too much oil on it, the same will happen to the new MAF.

Disconnect the battery and remove the MAF. Get some MAF cleaner and clean it. Make sure it's completely dry before you put it all back together and reconnect the battery. After all this and you start the engine, your idle will be high and a little erratic unless you perform the idle re-learn.

Here's the idle re-learn (which is really idle and fuel trim re-learn)

Disconnect NEG from battery for 30min (you will have done this already)

Reconnect and start car, let idle as eng gets to operating temp. Let it idle a little over a minute

Turn on A/C to MAX, let idle little over a minute, turn off A/C

Then drive the car for at least 10 miles

Hope that solves your problem.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:09 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Anthony8994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 37
I had the same problem by a can of maf cleaner they have to be spotless
Anthony8994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:27 PM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: California
Posts: 4
The Maf sensor should be spotless, it's brand new. Is there a way for my self to check the air control valve?

Another think if I am not mistaken theirs a cable that's shoots a signal to the PCM. I tested it to see the voltage. According to specs when you start your car and its on idle it should shoot .9 to 1v, and gradually go up as you accelerate. The readings i got was .7 while on idle and on 1500 rpm if I am not mistaken it should be at 1.8v and I got 1.6v. I was always 2 digits lower than what it was suppose to be. Is that bad?
Pablo G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:00 PM   #11
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Hopefully you can see this. This is from my Chiltons...
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:04 PM   #12
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
You can remove the IAC and clean it with something like throttle body cleaner. I have done this with mine. Many times they get so black with carbon build up, it doesn't matter how much you clean it, so it's possible you may need to replace it.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:34 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: California
Posts: 4
Thanks,

I'll see how bad it is, even replacing it if I have to. I'll get back with everyone in a few days and report the outcome. Wish me luck.
Pablo G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:37 PM   #14
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablo G. View Post
Thanks,

I'll see how bad it is, even replacing it if I have to. I'll get back with everyone in a few days and report the outcome. Wish me luck.
Try to not get the end with the wire connection wet with cleaner.

Cool man, good luck!
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Members Mustangs

Bella

dmunoz

Victoria

GT00
Add your Mustang
» Like Us On Facebook



12:04 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.