white gauge installation gone wrong! help! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-31-2012, 06:42 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 8
white gauge installation gone wrong! help!

Ok so I installed the white gauges on my mustang v6 03 and before I did it I saw some steps on how to do it online. b4 I took the gauge cluster out I turned my car on for about 5 minutes than took a picture of where the needles need to go. After that I took it apart (including the needles) and when I put them back on the middle one (speedometer) was like 5mph off (after checking with GPS) how can I fix it. Do I need to pay to get it calibrated? Thanks to everyone
I know im dumb u dont have to tell me lol
ogalvan35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2012, 02:07 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
03Sixtang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Nevada
Posts: 160
Is it consistently stuck at 5mph off? If it is I remember someone saying on here before that they adjusted the actual needle somehow. I'm going out on a limb here but I think they pulled the base of the needle out and dialed the attaching side of the cluster manually while the car was off and then checked the speed and repeated until they got it right. Never personally had to do it before, but just throwing the idea out there
03Sixtang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:15 AM   #3
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Yikes! Well, does it look good at least?
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2012, 02:38 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bamman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Region: Kansas
Posts: 304
I have also always noticed that my gps is a good 3-4 mph off at times too. So i wouldnt souly trust the gps all together either. I would speed trap it.
__________________
8 Cylinders Little Brother.
Bamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:07 PM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 8
O3stang its at 0mph when off and I turn it on and still at 0mph when I speed up it does go up like a regular speedometer but its 5mph above the right speed. Im thinking if there was a way I can keep it at like 10mph take the needle off and set it at the 10 so it would be the right speed but Idk how to do that

---------- Post added at 02:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:06 PM ----------

Primer2tone
It looks fukin sick ill take a pic of it later

---------- Post added at 02:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:07 PM ----------

Bamman how do I speed trap it?
ogalvan35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:18 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Bamman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Region: Kansas
Posts: 304
Ask a cop?
__________________
8 Cylinders Little Brother.
Bamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:54 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
never take the needles off to do a gauge slip install...that's for those that haven't done it yet

you could remove the plastic cover on the cluster...install it. drive next to a friend when he is doing 10..then set your cruise control if you have it. pull the needle up with a fork (not all the way off)...and set it to 10 (or have a friend do it by leaning over you).

yes it's a pain to do it this way, but it's alot cheaper then paying a dealer to calibrate it
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:20 AM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix
never take the needles off to do a gauge slip install...that's for those that haven't done it yet

you could remove the plastic cover on the cluster...install it. drive next to a friend when he is doing 10..then set your cruise control if you have it. pull the needle up with a fork (not all the way off)...and set it to 10 (or have a friend do it by leaning over you).

yes it's a pain to do it this way, but it's alot cheaper then paying a dealer to calibrate it
Yuupp ill do that thanks Bro.
ogalvan35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:27 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Just be safe and find a clear road with plenty of play room.
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:21 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.