Help help help with gauge cluster - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-05-2012, 04:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
SN95V600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 155
Help help help with gauge cluster

Alright guys today i decided to change my color to my cluster to red not the ugly green well i took off the layer itself the cluster scratched off the blue now were im stuck is the pins like rpm mph oil gas coolant well they are not reading properly any info on how to fix?
SN95V600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2012, 04:40 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
did you take a picture of them before you took everything apart? it's best to start the car and let it sit for around 5 mins...then snap a pic...then when putting it all back together plug in the cluster without the plastic cover and start the car..after 5 mins put the needles in place while looking at the pic for reference...if you didn't take a pic i'm not sure what you can do besides a dealer. hopefully someone can chime in
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
SN95V600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 155
Does pats system have anything to do with it? Thought about picking up a cluster frm junk uard
SN95V600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2012, 04:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by SN95V600 View Post
Alright guys today i decided to change my color to my cluster to red not the ugly green well i took off the layer itself the cluster scratched off the blue now were im stuck is the pins like rpm mph oil gas coolant well they are not reading properly any info on how to fix?
You have to pull the needles out a little just to where they fit on barely because when you take off the film on the cluster it's looser so it stops the needles from moving. I figured that out on my own lol
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2823126473.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	368.0 KB
ID:	79569
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:34 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
SN95V600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 155
Omg bro thats the dam color i wanted lol well see all i got to do was scratch off the blue but mow the needles wont read right anyway of fixing it?
SN95V600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:48 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by SN95V600 View Post
Omg bro thats the dam color i wanted lol well see all i got to do was scratch off the blue but mow the needles wont read right anyway of fixing it?
Just pull the needles out a little and make sure before you turn it on that the mph needle is all the way touching the little needle sticking out of the film and then the rest you pretty much you have to remember where they were at.. My gas needle is a little off. But you can't really tell.

---------- Post added at 04:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:46 PM ----------

And my speed is a little off I just need to take it off and move it again
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
SN95V600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 155
Hey man i think i fixed it the mph is off by 5 rpms gas and the temp are on the dot.....where did u get the red lightbulbs i got 194r and they r the wrong size
SN95V600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:50 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by SN95V600 View Post
Hey man i think i fixed it the mph is off by 5 rpms gas and the temp are on the dot.....where did u get the red lightbulbs i got 194r and they r the wrong size
Lol yeah my mph is off by 5 also. Ha and I got mine off http://www.superbrightleds.com/cat/i...cluster-gauge/ they were these

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-685947532.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	231.5 KB
ID:	79599
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
They were 1.59 each
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:43 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.