$150 for a 1990 gt rear, good buy? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-13-2003, 09:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
$150 for a 1990 gt rear, good buy?

I need to know if it's a good buy and if the axles are interchangable?

He wants $250 for it, and it already has tloc in it.

If I upgrade to 4.10 should I also replace the tloc to have all new parts?
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2003, 09:21 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
No just have to have the tloc checked and or maybe rebuilt
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 09:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
Should I try to get a newer rear or is this fine?
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2003, 09:28 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
It seems to be a good buy. just pop of the differential plate and take a look inside. see if it has been taken care of
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 10:23 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
yes, the axles are interchangable (as long as you have a pre-99). both are 28 spline and same length. if you have a 99+, then that rear end is 1.5" shorter than your current rearend. just put your axle housings on the pumpkin and youll be fine.

like corey said, as long as the posi is in good condition, dont spend the money to get a new one
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 10:25 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
Damn, I have a 99+. What does this mean to me, can't use?
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 10:37 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
you cant use the stock axle housings. this is where i would have a shop install the rear for you. cause it means taking off the axle shafts (the part in which the axles go) and installing the new ones. if you install your own, it should work just fine. basically just use the carrier (aka pumpkin) off the 8.8 and the rest of your stuff.
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 10:44 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Hey, just making sure, the t-lock locks both the right and left axle right? Wouldn't that mess up while turning and such when you have both tires moving at the same speed. Just a thought that popped in my head.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 10:49 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
yes and no. a true locking differential does do that. however a traction lock differential does not. it still drives the passenger rear wheel mainly. but when that tire slips, power is transferred to the other wheel so both wheels spin. so when youre going around a corner and one wheel is not slipping, the t-lock is working to not lock them together. its a "smart" device that knows how much power to give to each wheel based on torque, slippage, and some other things
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 10:57 PM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Ha ok, just making sure. I hadn't really thought about it till just a little bit ago. That makes a lot more sense now. Thanks man. It would be quite interesting to drive a car with a true locked differential. Ok, solved alot of questions I had, thanks
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:00 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
Ok given all I can use is the pumpkin, is it still a good deal for $250.

Any of the stuff like the 4 lug axles worth putting on ebay? Or is that swap meet stuff.

Would the axle housings off the 7.7 bolt up or am I fubar on that too.
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:11 PM   #12
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
yeah, thats a fine deal. think of it as getting a really really strong traction lock. a new one is about $200-225 anyway, and it is included in the pumpkin.

the 4lugs are worthless on ebay. its swap meet stuff, best.

we have 7.5 rears, not 7.7s. but yes, your stock axle housings will bolt right up to it. just have the shop put those on the new pumpkin when they put the gears in, and have them install it too, since you need to keep those axle housings and wouldnt be able to get home w/o them
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:16 PM   #13
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
wouldnt that rear end have a 4 lug setup?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:21 PM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
yeah, thats why he asked if he could sell them on ebay. the 4 lugs and 5 lugs are interchangable. he just reuses his stock axles, axle housings, and disc brakes and it will bolt up fine and dandy
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:26 PM   #15
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
oh, i didnt read all the posts, i guess i should do that first :thumb2:
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:33 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
I'm going to drop by tomorrow and pick it up. will take pics of the junkyars, it's a real city nightmare one. Two blocks long and 50 foot high racks.
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:45 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkey
yes, the axles are interchangable (as long as you have a pre-99). both are 28 spline and same length. if you have a 99+, then that rear end is 1.5" shorter than your current rearend. just put your axle housings on the pumpkin and youll be fine.

like corey said, as long as the posi is in good condition, dont spend the money to get a new one

why swap axles housings? just put your 99+ axles into the foxbody unit and your set. Transfer over your brake brackets and anything else and itll bolt right up.

And a new tlok isn $225, if anyone pays that much I feel bad for you.

http://www.gefracing.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=G&Product_Code=M4204F318&Category_Code=46REAR
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:51 PM   #18
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
how much do you think shipping is on that $190 unit? i said 200-225 anyway, so im right in the ballpark.


and for the axle housings, he needs to swap them over too because the axles are 0.75" longer on his car than on the fox body's. and since the brake bracket is on the end of the housing, the brakes would not fit on the rotors. they would be .75" too far inward. so thus, you need his housings to make it fit right
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 11:55 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
aren't the housings welded to the pumpkin? Im trying to picture my rear axle..

they shouldnt just slide out....but I cant think.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:11 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
after reading up on it a little more..

all 8.8 housings are the same length. Only the axle shafts themselves are longer/shorter.

If you swap the brake brackets off your 7.5" onto the 8.8" you should be good to go.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:13 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
So no swapping the axle housings? No need for a different drive shaft?

Drop swap and roll?
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:24 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
driveshaft, no.

axle shafts, yes

brake brackets, yes

axle housings, shouldnt have to. I didnt even know they come apart from the pumpkin.

everything else bolts up.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:26 AM   #23
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
you could have always used your stock driveshaft

and the axle housings are not welded on. im looking in my haynes right now. they are held on by bolts that are in the pumpkin.

youre right. all pumpkins are the same size. however, the axle housings in 99 and up, became 1.5" longer overall. thus so did the axles and axle shafts themselves. if he is using the stock axles, they will stick out of the fox body's stock length axle shafts. if he puts his brake bracket on the new housing, then it will still be 0.75" shorter than it normally would be. that means that 0.75" of the axle will still be hanging out of the shaft.

i dont think youre grasping the fact taht the 99 axles are longer than the pre99s (including the 8.8s)
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:29 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
I am. But from what I've read by using the 7.5 brake brackets the brakes are still able to fit onto the rotors.

Again, this is what I've read. When I swapped my 8.8" it was for a 99+ so I just swapped everything.

Hopefully we can clear this up.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:31 AM   #25
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
before we get into a debate, define "axle shaft" for me. this happened in another thread. me and someone else were fighting and we realized we were talking about the same thing just different names
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:32 AM   #26
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangin99
I am. But from what I've read by using the 7.5 brake brackets the brakes are still able to fit onto the rotors.

Again, this is what I've read. When I swapped my 8.8" it was for a 99+ so I just swapped everything.

Hopefully we can clear this up.
yeah, i agree. i put an 8.8 on my car. it was from a fox body, but i have a pre99. so one of us is gonna need to crawl under there and just go look.
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:33 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
So I need to get two shorter 28 spline axles? Won't that shrink my wheelbase and may the car look retarded? beffy in front , narrrow in rear?
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:36 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkey
before we get into a debate, define "axle shaft" for me. this happened in another thread. me and someone else were fighting and we realized we were talking about the same thing just different names

no fighting...just heated debate

axle shaft as in the axle itself. The piece that goes into the tubing and connects to the LSD via c-clips.

Axle housing as in the tube that extends out to the rotors.

It snowed here today, so I aint crawling underneath...and that only leaves one of us
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:37 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASSEMbler
So I need to get two shorter 28 spline axles? Won't that shrink my wheelbase and may the car look retarded? beffy in front , narrrow in rear?
if the housings do unbolt(I honestly didnt know they did) then just swap the housings and your 7.5" axles and youll be set.

Shouldnt be much more work if their bolted on.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 06:44 AM   #30
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangin99

It snowed here today, so I aint crawling underneath...and that only leaves one of us

BBBBBBBBBRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!! THAT SUX.
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 10:49 AM   #31
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkey

It snowed here today, so I aint crawling underneath...and that only leaves one of us

BBBBBBBBBRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!! THAT SUX.
wow, thats some insightful commentary corey

ill look sometime this weekend. i have to crawl under there anyway to tighten a bolt or something that is rattling around down there, so ill look
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 11:10 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
I found a place that has a complete 2000 Gt rear with calipers for $650.
Sound better? No need to change anything really.
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 11:26 AM   #33
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
650 is kinda expensive
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 11:31 AM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to ASSEMbler
Really? What is a good price? I'd need a 2000 and up so I don't have to worry about axle length. Rebuilt ones are something ridiculous like $1400 from Jasper with you giving a core!

It has the 3.27 gearing it it. and the tloc right? So all I have to do is drop it in,
unless I change the gearing which is my next question.

4.10 limits you to 68-70 mph?
If it does, what gear can I use that would
allow me to hit 120 mph still?

I am still checking out wreckers, but mind you this rear has about 15,000 miles on it.
They also had a 4.6 motor for $1500.

the other 8.8 is cheaper, but if the guy has to work harder on the rear to change parts, he'll charge me a lot more. I can get the $650 rear and have my local pal put it in for about $150.

Liviving near a major city sucks for prices. I'd drive out to PA if I could find a cheaper place.
__________________
================================
SIG REMOVED FOR THE PRUDE
ASSEMbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 12:00 PM   #35
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
$650 is not a bad price for a complete rear end. its a tad high, but if it already has the axles installed and stuff, then its not too bad at all.

4.10s will not limit you to 70mph. it will limit you to 85.... if you dont get a chip to recal the speedo. since youre going to anyway, you are still theoretically able to hit 150mph with 4.10s.

and dont pay your friend $150 to put it in. its an afternoon job. heck, its only 14 bolts to remove total before its free from your car. im sure he can help you and then give him a pizza, some soda and $50 or something.
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a good buy?? knoykos 1996-2004 Mustang GT 16 04-22-2009 09:16 PM
Good Buy? Hollywood jack General Mustang Discussion 2 06-17-2008 02:24 PM
will this be a good buy strike1980 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 11-16-2006 07:36 PM
Is this a good buy? 98GreenStallion Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 10 12-10-2003 01:07 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:26 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.