Cam position sensor - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-31-2013, 02:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dgerow12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: New York
Posts: 502
Cam position sensor

So this morning came out and started my car and let it warm up. Came out and my check engine light was on. Checked it at work an it said cam position sensor circuit a bank one( don't remember the exact code. Anyway noticed no difference in how my cars running so I cleared it and hasn't come back on yet. Anyone have this happen?
Dgerow12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2013, 03:59 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Skargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tacoma
Region: Washington
Posts: 112
Had it happen once, It kept coming back every week or so, Replaced Cam sensor, no more flashy lights.
__________________

1998 Mustang V6
CAI, Exhaust, Weight Reduction
16.5 1/4 Mile
Skargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
When I had my 3.8 I had to replace this part....basically is the distributor, however is an expensive fix...$500 with labor at Ford.
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2013, 12:13 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
davidcseifert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 1,694
if you need a new one honestly get one from a junkyard for cheap, better than paying for brand new ford one,all the aftermarket ones are made with low grade metal and will not last long at all.. trust me my car ate one of those and put metal shavings all in my oil pan, thankfully there is a screen on the pickup tube, the ford ones may have a problem with the bearing locking up in them but they will not shred like the cheap ones
__________________

BV heads, P&P lower, comp 218/226 cam, 4.2 bottom end, 3k stall, flow 40's, O/R x-pipe, Pacesetter lt's, SCT xcal2 (93 Ortizperformance tune), Windstar upper, 65mm tb, CAI, 8.8 w/ 3.73's, SFC's, cut springs, KYB shocks/struts, MM LCA's
blower/new cam soon
Dealer for Ortiz Performance, great tunes at a good price!
davidcseifert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by runvsofthisbull View Post
When I had my 3.8 I had to replace this part....basically is the distributor, however is an expensive fix...$500 with labor at Ford.
We dont have distributors in our models....cam sensors are pretty cheap at most auto parts.
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:01 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dgerow12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: New York
Posts: 502
So I cleared the code and it hasn't come back in two days. Only difference I've noticed is that my fuel mileage sucks. Anyone know where the cam sensor is located?
Dgerow12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:00 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Skargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tacoma
Region: Washington
Posts: 112
On my car it was under the coil pack, but since you have a Split port, it should be somewhere right above the water pump and slightly to the left.. I dont have any pictures but it is basically a little circle with a plug plugged into it, and two little screws/bolts
__________________

1998 Mustang V6
CAI, Exhaust, Weight Reduction
16.5 1/4 Mile
Skargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:52 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
runvsofthisbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Region: Florida
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post
We dont have distributors in our models....cam sensors are pretty cheap at most auto parts.
Yes I know this thus why I said it is basically the same part. I never said 3.8L split ports had it but if you actually have replaced this part like I have it looks just like a distributor without the cap
__________________

2002 True Blue V6 to GT Vert
16.1@86 as an auto 3.8
2.15 60', 9.3@77, 14.4@96 as a 5spd SOHC 4.6
runvsofthisbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:35 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.