Painted calipers - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-11-2008, 12:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Kansas
Painted calipers

Hey all, I currently own a 2002 V6. Ebay cai, steeda short throw shifter, 3.73 gears, auburn posi unit, SCT tune, and magnaflow dual exhaust. I just landed me some sweet black bullts for my car(car is black). Anyway, I love the look of painted calipers, plus, my stockies look like poop on a cracker and the look of either yellow or red calipers would be great! I have never done this or looked into it much before so I have a few questions.

1. Would I paint my stock calipers or would you buy new ones and paint them? If I do buy new ones, new or used and what type(v6, cobra, etcc). If I buy Cobra caipers, rotors, will the fit right up or would I have to modify anything?

2. Brand of paint to buy?

3. any guides out there?

4. any other advice!
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2008, 07:13 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Louisiana
Re: Painted calipers

If you buy Cobra fronts you'll need bigger rotors and they'll bolt right up. All 94-04 rear calipers are the same. V6 ang GT fronts are the same.

There are kits at Wal-mart that are as good as anything else, specifically for painting calipers, you can usually get them on sale for $15 and that should be enough to do all 4. It's brush on, but the paint will self level so it will come out smooth.

The kits generally include instructions, it's easy, jsut don't get any paint on the pistons or boots.