HID Problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-28-2013, 08:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Missouri
Posts: 362
HID Problem

So I've had 35w hids in for a few months now. But recently one goes out and it will come back on and its really annoying. I remember hearing about a relay harness that gives it constant power. Would I need this to solve the problem? Where can I get one or do I need two?
V6in is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 09:05 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 20
It could be a few things.. The ballast could be going bad or just a bad connection. But I would try the relay and see if that works. I know on my car I have to start the car then turn on my lights otherwise the second hid will not have enough power to turn on. A relay can be bought on eBay for a good price.
Mxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Missouri
Posts: 362
Ya idk the ballast is only 2 months old maybe lol.
V6in is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 09:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
what brand kit? and you can buy a relay kit from DDM
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:52 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Missouri
Posts: 362
I got it from DDM

---------- Post added at 09:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:49 PM ----------

And if I do get this which I think it will solve the problem after reading... Will any relay harness work or do I need an 880 one or what
V6in is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:55 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 20
Yeah but sometimes you just get bad ballasts depending on the brand. And I'm not totally sure but I think all the relays are the same plug and play with the two prongs. I've never personally used one because mine don't need one.
Mxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:28 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
hmm it's rare for a DDM ballast to have issues...however if you do end up having a faulty one remember they have lifetime warranty on them
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
try swapping the ballasts with each other and see if the problem follows or stays to one side..that'll tell you what's up
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:41 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Missouri
Posts: 362
Well its not just one, it's sometimes the other. Like I could have one out then turn them off and on again and the other is out. And sometimes they flicker.
V6in is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:34 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
sounds like they aren't getting enough power
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:39 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Missouri
Posts: 362
So I'm online and looking at the ddm relay... Its only $10 but on a lot of the other ones I was looking at you had to put your bulb size in. This one doesn't have that. So will it fit all or what?
V6in is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:44 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
it should be fine..i was also looking at the error eliminators...i'm wondering if our cars have a fail safe to turn off the power to a bulb if it thinks it's drawing to much power...if so that'd fix it as well. i'll have to look into it
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:51 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Missouri
Posts: 362
I think I'm just gonna buy the relay hopefully it works.
V6in is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:53 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
keep us up to date
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:56 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Missouri
Posts: 362
Will do
V6in is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:32 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.