bolt size on upper intake - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-19-2003, 10:52 PM   #1
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to whipster24 Send a message via Yahoo to whipster24
bolt size on upper intake

Hey guys, I'm wondering what size the bolts are on the upper intake. I'm gonna be putting a spacer in this weeken and Imagine I will need to replace those with something that's a bit longer.

Thanx much!
__________________


"This year will go down in history. For the first time, a civilized nation has full gun registration. Our streets will be safer, our police more efficient, and the world will follow our lead into the future!"
-Adolf Hitler, 1935
whipster24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2003, 09:39 AM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Rick0636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,552
Send a message via AIM to Rick0636 Send a message via Yahoo to Rick0636
3/16 spacer will work fine with the stock upper intake bolts, if you have a 1/2 inch spacer, then you need longer ones, you will probably have to take them out and go somewhere that has metic bolts and get longer ones. Not sure about where you are, but most of the hardware stores here only have standard, so you will have to check around.
__________________
Rick Kilpatrick, AAS Automotive Systems Tech, Alamance Community College, Class of 99. 06 5 speed manual Mustang with Pony pkg : GT Mac Mufflers, true duals with one custom pipe. 2.5" system. GT bumper cover, all installed March 7&8 2006. AFE Stage 1 CAI, Motoblue Underdrive pulley, GT aluminum shifter knob, honeycomb rear blackout panel,and dash kit installed. Roush hood scoop and side window louvers installed. SS taillight trim has been installed, new alum. GT steering wheel installed.
Rick0636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 12:39 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
up to 3/8" is as thick as you can go while still using the stock bolts. if you have the 1/2", then like rick said, take one off when you get to Lowes or Home Depot, and go buy a new set of them.
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2003, 01:02 PM   #4
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
wtf is with an american car company using metric? it makes me sooo mad everytime i work on my car because i have pretty much all standard tools lol. Then i get stuck with crescent wrenches and robo grips to do the job... :no:
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 01:32 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to whipster24 Send a message via Yahoo to whipster24
Metric is sooooooooooooooooo much better then the old english system *L* Everything is in multiples of ten. to go from meters to centimeters you just multiply by 100 (move the decimal place) To go from feet to inches you have to multiply by 12. (makes it much easier to do unit changes in metric then english)

Of course, I'm an engineer so I have to do calculations like these frequently *L* and units of measurement are essential to getting correct results
__________________


"This year will go down in history. For the first time, a civilized nation has full gun registration. Our streets will be safer, our police more efficient, and the world will follow our lead into the future!"
-Adolf Hitler, 1935
whipster24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 01:41 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,286
i agree. since im a science major, i do all my experiments in metric. its just easier. i honestly think america should drop the SAE system and join the metric system. i know for a fact that we are losing trades with some countries or even amounts traded because of the conversions

hey mike - hate to tell ya, but most all the bolts on the stang are metric. go buy a metric set of tools. the nitrous isnt though. its 7/16ths and 9/16ths, but i know you have already figured that out
__________________
**I have sigs turned off, so if you're asking for advice based on your mods, I can't see them**
Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 01:43 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to whipster24 Send a message via Yahoo to whipster24
The worst thing is when you have both systems in used on the same piece of machinery. That is just plain annoying.
__________________


"This year will go down in history. For the first time, a civilized nation has full gun registration. Our streets will be safer, our police more efficient, and the world will follow our lead into the future!"
-Adolf Hitler, 1935
whipster24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 03:21 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to whipster24 Send a message via Yahoo to whipster24
There is a really nice machine shop in town with a great selection of fasteners. I will be taking the bolts that are in there and bring em to the shop. Then I'll report my findings on here Maybe put up a sticky with the bolt sizes or a spacer sticky or something.
__________________


"This year will go down in history. For the first time, a civilized nation has full gun registration. Our streets will be safer, our police more efficient, and the world will follow our lead into the future!"
-Adolf Hitler, 1935
whipster24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 12:33 AM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Rick0636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,552
Send a message via AIM to Rick0636 Send a message via Yahoo to Rick0636
thanks Monkey, I meant to say 3/8s and 1/2, goofed. You still may find some standard bolts on your stang. From what I understand its not when something is made so much as when it was designed, so if you had a transmission for example that was designed in like the 60s, it would probably have all SAE bolts and nuts in it. Strange isn't it?
__________________
Rick Kilpatrick, AAS Automotive Systems Tech, Alamance Community College, Class of 99. 06 5 speed manual Mustang with Pony pkg : GT Mac Mufflers, true duals with one custom pipe. 2.5" system. GT bumper cover, all installed March 7&8 2006. AFE Stage 1 CAI, Motoblue Underdrive pulley, GT aluminum shifter knob, honeycomb rear blackout panel,and dash kit installed. Roush hood scoop and side window louvers installed. SS taillight trim has been installed, new alum. GT steering wheel installed.
Rick0636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 07:24 AM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipster24
The worst thing is when you have both systems in used on the same piece of machinery. That is just plain annoying.
You bet having both systems is bad. Do you remember the failed Martian probe landing. Well Lockheed Engineers did all the Telemetry to determine speed of decent to the surface in metrics and the NASA Engineers went back and used the numbers as SAE feet and the lander smashed into the Martian surface. A 300 million dollar mistake


It is really weird though all the Passanger aircraft of the world use SAE. I have yet to see a metric tool used on a Jet liner
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 11:36 AM   #11
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Rick0636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,552
Send a message via AIM to Rick0636 Send a message via Yahoo to Rick0636
Here is a little puzzler for you: Ok, think our stangs have no standard bolts huh? OK they do, they have some 7/32 screws , the ones that hold the computer case together, and the one that holds the plastic bracked that holds the ECU in the car are 7/32" screws. Just a little FYI, if they are metric I never found a metric socket or wrench that fits, but a 7/32" SAE socket is a perfect fit for those.
__________________
Rick Kilpatrick, AAS Automotive Systems Tech, Alamance Community College, Class of 99. 06 5 speed manual Mustang with Pony pkg : GT Mac Mufflers, true duals with one custom pipe. 2.5" system. GT bumper cover, all installed March 7&8 2006. AFE Stage 1 CAI, Motoblue Underdrive pulley, GT aluminum shifter knob, honeycomb rear blackout panel,and dash kit installed. Roush hood scoop and side window louvers installed. SS taillight trim has been installed, new alum. GT steering wheel installed.
Rick0636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rear brake caliper anchor bolt size/help CakeOrDeath? Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 09-01-2007 01:04 AM
Size of bolt that grounds computer Brent Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 12-12-2005 02:32 PM
2001 Upper Intake jimmy_beaner Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 16 04-21-2005 11:55 AM
Looking for 99+ Upper Intake.. 35thAniVertible Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 09-16-2003 01:23 PM
Oil in the upper intake. Ken Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 9 07-18-2003 03:41 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:11 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.