mustang v6 sc swap problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-08-2013, 09:59 AM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
rubencba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Albuquerque N.M
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 16
mustang v6 sc swap problem

We did a swap from a 1990 Thunderbird sc on my 1995 mustang. The problem is that when we press on the throtle it trys to dieout and when we let go it gose to idle and it just turns off anyone have any idea or sugestion would
rubencba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2013, 07:21 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London
Region: Canada
Posts: 209
You should take it to someone who knows how to tune cars. I can't think of how many times I hear about someone who has done a big build up and the car does not run well at all because they did not get the car tuned right.

Which brings me to a question, did you use the ECU out of the Thunderbird or stick with the Mustang ECU? That could be the problem if you didn't change that too?
Redstang19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 07:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
^ +10000
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2013, 07:49 PM   #4
Registered User
Newbie
 
rubencba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Albuquerque N.M
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 16
No left the mustang every whier i read siad it be ok or better and yea a tune shop sounds like my only option now
rubencba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 07:57 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London
Region: Canada
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubencba View Post
No left the mustang every whier i read siad it be ok or better and yea a tune shop sounds like my only option now
Yeah taking it to get tuned is your best bet then, but be prepared though some of those places that do tuning for this kind of thing charge a lot of money. Good luck.

Also I know of a guy who did this swap, if you are going to do any bolt-ons after this do not do under drive pullies, you will be going through head gaskets left and right.
Redstang19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 08:02 PM   #6
Registered User
Newbie
 
rubencba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Albuquerque N.M
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 16
Ok and thanks for the help
rubencba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 08:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London
Region: Canada
Posts: 209
No problem.
Redstang19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 09:06 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Floydt100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Detroit
Region: Michigan
Posts: 40
I can tell you why its not running right 100% guarentee its the ecu.. You cant run a thunderbird engine on a mustang ecu its like trying to run imac on a windows itll boot up but nothing will work right.. The mustang ecu is tuned to completely different spec than a thunderbird. You will also need all the thunderbird wiring harness or else sensors will be overlooked which will also cause rough idling. Get the thunderbird ecu i guarentee itll run great
Floydt100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:10 PM   #9
Registered User
Newbie
 
rubencba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Albuquerque N.M
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 16
Ok ill try that but the reason i didnt do that is becuase thier are way different. I have the original block harnest do i need the intirer too or how would i work that any sagestin
rubencba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:14 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Floydt100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Detroit
Region: Michigan
Posts: 40
Yes you will need to swap the entire ecu its a silver box above where the passenger would put their feet get all the harnesses from the tbsc ecu and start rewiring.. Itll take a wile but when its done it should run smoothly.. Get a wiring diagram for the ecu and splice in wires to the harness as needed
Floydt100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:20 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Floydt100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Detroit
Region: Michigan
Posts: 40
Also is your engine throwing any service engine soon codes? If its giving you a huge list of codes thats a sure sign the ecu isnt right
Floydt100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:24 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
rubencba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Albuquerque N.M
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 16
Ok thiers onother tbsc at the junk yard where i got the engine from that i can get the complet harnest becuase the one that i got with the engine i cut to conect with the mustang harnest.

So when i put the harnest do i have to use the intierer wiring to and would it be prety close too the same wiring
rubencba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:53 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Floydt100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Detroit
Region: Michigan
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubencba View Post
Ok thiers onother tbsc at the junk yard where i got the engine from that i can get the complet harnest becuase the one that i got with the engine i cut to conect with the mustang harnest.

So when i put the harnest do i have to use the intierer wiring to and would it be prety close too the same wiring
It should be simular get a wiring diagram for both and see how they match up
Floydt100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:37 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London
Region: Canada
Posts: 209
This should be a lot less expenisive doing it this way than taking your stock ECU to get a tune or chip made up for it by some shop. Let us know if it all works out.
Redstang19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:50 AM   #15
Registered User
Newbie
 
rubencba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Albuquerque N.M
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redstang19 View Post
This should be a lot less expenisive doing it this way than taking your stock ECU to get a tune or chip made up for it by some shop. Let us know if it all works out.
Ok yea ill ask around see how much it comes out to thanks
rubencba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 01:21 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Floydt100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Detroit
Region: Michigan
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redstang19 View Post
This should be a lot less expenisive doing it this way than taking your stock ECU to get a tune or chip made up for it by some shop. Let us know if it all works out.
Deffinately a pro tune would be about $300 he can get a stock tb ecu used for less than $100
Floydt100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:33 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.