replacing stock head unit with mach system - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-21-2013, 10:40 AM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 2
replacing stock head unit with mach system

So I'm new to all of this. Got a 2002 Base convertible from my uncle (only 56k miles!) a couple of months ago, and I'm loving it. Everything (except the gas mileage) is better than my 99 protege.

And the radio.

I want a freaking AUX input! 6 CD changer? What is this, 1998?

The FM transmitter I have is crappy.

I put this (Kenwood - KDC-MP235) in my protege years ago, and it works great. The EQ made everything sound better. I pulled it out before I sold my protege.

So my question is - can I replace the just Mach 460 Double DIN head unit with the Kenwood? I don't intend on replacing the speakers/amps/subs.

I know I'd need to get a Double DIN installation kit with the pocket/tray. And a new harness.

I've read that it's difficult to attach a aftermarket HU to the Mach speakers - is that true?
Mag0802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2013, 02:12 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
yes you can replace the unit...

now one issue is that the design changed for the mach 460 for the amp harness...pull out your double din and snap a picture of both plug ins for the speakers and the amp so i can see the pin and casing...i have a spare harness for the earlier 460 units brand new i can't use so i'd probably let you have it for cheap if it'll work. just pm me if interested :good
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 02:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
btw welcome to the site
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2013, 02:20 PM   #4
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 2
Amazon.com: SCOSCHE 1995-Up Ford/Mercury/Lincoln/Mazda Double DIN and DIN with pocket: Car Electronics

Would that work as a DIN kit? Since it's a single and a pocket? Or is there a better quality one out there?

And thanks for the harness link - very much appreciated!
Mag0802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 03:29 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
yeah that'll work...btw though show me which harness you have on the car before you order from the link i gave. depending on which one you have that may or may not fit
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:20 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.