Can someone help me ? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-03-2013, 09:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toolbox20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mooresville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 73
Can someone help me ?

So I have a 98 mustang v6 5 speed .

And I have a bit of a issue , have no idea what to do about it .
I was driving up the road , at night , and I had the lights on , an then I get on the gas a little , an my headlights and tail lights went out , all lights went out , then underneath my stereo , there was a beeping noise .
Now my headlights will not turn on , nor the tail lights , nor the interior lights .
When I press the brake they light up , and my turn signals light up .
But when I turn on all the lights , I get nothing .
Any help is appreciated .
Toolbox20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2013, 09:45 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ju5tAsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ottawa
Region: Kansas
Posts: 43
First thing to check are the fuses.
Ju5tAsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Yep, fuses first. That would be your best bet. But you might have fried your switch as well. Check both fuse pales. One under your dash and one in your engine bay.
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2013, 11:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toolbox20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mooresville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 73
Fuses are good .
Toolbox20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolbox20 View Post
Fuses are good .
Seems like the switch went out. You probably fried the cable or something because all those lights are controlled by that one switch. You're going to have to take the switch out and trace the wire
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:37 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
Before replacing the switch go under the hood and check out I think it is a 30amp fuse or 20 I don't remember. This happens to my friend. And that was all it was.
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 07:08 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaperez100 View Post
Before replacing the switch go under the hood and check out I think it is a 30amp fuse or 20 I don't remember. This happens to my friend. And that was all it was.
The lights still work though, when he presses on the break.

Op, do your ambers turn on when you pull the headlight switch out? And what about turn signals?
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 07:30 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post

The lights still work though, when he presses on the break.

Op, do your ambers turn on when you pull the headlight switch out? And what about turn signals?
Yeah I know it's weird. When you break they still come on. Turn on your hazards and they all light up.. It has to do with the cluster gauge lights weird I know. But that's all it was was a fuse. Same exact thing happened to my friend. But if it isn't a fuse then idk what it would be.
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 07:45 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 301
The brake lights are on a separate circuit generally. My guess is it's the switch or a fuse. I have had both a fuse do this and on another car it was the switch.
SpaceFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 07:52 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceFish View Post
The brake lights are on a separate circuit generally. My guess is it's the switch or a fuse. I have had both a fuse do this and on another car it was the switch.
Yep, exactly. Hazards need to work so they're more protected
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:14 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toolbox20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mooresville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 73
My hazards work , my turn signals work , when I press the brake the brake lights light up .
Toolbox20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:06 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolbox20 View Post
My hazards work , my turn signals work , when I press the brake the brake lights light up .
Then there's something wrong with your switch or wires then. Take the gauge cluster bezel out and take a look
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:38 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xaperez100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,230
Check under the hood fuses first. Easy first harder later. Just might as well check all the fuses under the hood as well.
Xaperez100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:29 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toolbox20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mooresville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 73
All fuses are good .

Today I turned the car on , an went to turn on the lights , an they all came on .
Toolbox20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:40 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolbox20 View Post
All fuses are good .

Today I turned the car on , an went to turn on the lights , an they all came on .
Must have been a bad connection. Take a look at the switch just in case. It might happen again
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:19 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toolbox20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mooresville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 73
Will do .
Toolbox20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:31 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.