Stereo head unit - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-01-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Stereo head unit

I have an 04 v6 and I'm wanting to replace the stock stereo head unit. I haven't really researched anything yet so I'm hoping some of you have experience with it. One question, will replacing the head unit improve the sound at all? Or is just more of the a usability upgrade?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2013, 12:05 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
depends...which unit do you have right now?
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post
depends...which unit do you have right now?
Are their multiple stock units?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2013, 12:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
yes. there the mach 360, mach 460, and mach 1000
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:24 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post
yes. there the mach 360, mach 460, and mach 1000
Hmm we'll I've got the 40th anniversary. Not sure if that helps to know. How do I figure that out?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:30 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
post a pic of your cars stereo
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:31 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post
post a pic of your cars stereo
I'm in Chicago on vacation till next Sunday
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:31 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Do you have factory tweeters?
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:32 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
I have a JVC unit on mine with the stock 360 speakers. Didn't improve sound at all. You new better speakers for that
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3271521215.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	378.6 KB
ID:	116289  
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:37 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831 View Post
Do you have factory tweeters?
Not sure what that is! But I haven't changed any part of the audio set up so its all factory

---------- Post added at 11:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:37 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post
I have a JVC unit on mine with the stock 360 speakers. Didn't improve sound at all. You new better speakers for that
Looks sick! Mind me asking the price?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:37 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samueldstrk View Post

Not sure what that is! But I haven't changed any part of the audio set up so its all factory
On your door, opposite the mirrors. So you have speakers there?
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:38 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
are there smaller speakers on each door right next to the side mirrors (tweeters)
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:38 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133

Name:   image-3071437730.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  18.4 KB

These are the tweeters
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:39 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Thanks. It was about $500 new plus taxes, interest, and insurance came out to about $700 paying it credit.
Yeah it's expensive but I don't have the cash to get one cheap. Saved me $160 doing the install myself
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:41 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831 View Post

These are the tweeters
Yeah I've got them
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:41 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
You have the 460 then. Are you able to put a single din or double din on you'res?
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:42 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post
Thanks. It was about $500 new plus taxes, interest, and insurance came out to about $700 paying it credit.
Yeah it's expensive but I don't have the cash to get one cheap. Saved me $160 doing the install myself
Wow that's pricey! What all does it have? GPS I'm guessing?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:43 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
well since he's an '04 he can run a double din unit
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:46 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samueldstrk View Post

Yeah I've got them
Then you probably have the Mach 460 system If you had the Mach 1000 you'd have an amp in the trunk

---------- Post added at 12:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:44 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samueldstrk View Post

Wow that's pricey! What all does it have? GPS I'm guessing?
Connects to my iPhone via Bluetooth and I can use my apps on there and it's a DVD player as well. It's very convenient. You have upgraded speakers so they will sound good anyways
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:46 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831 View Post
You have the 460 then. Are you able to put a single din or double din on you'res?
I'm sorry not familiar with the term din?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:47 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samueldstrk View Post

I'm sorry not familiar with the term din?
Single Din is the single normal CD player type radio and double din is twice the size
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:48 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-882320850.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	426.5 KB
ID:	116294
Here you are.
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:50 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Double din it is then!
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:52 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Sonic electronics always has great deals. I got my jcv double din from them on my old gt for a total of 240 and worked great
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:53 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
As far as install goes what does that intale?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:53 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Just simple wiring and splicing
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:55 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Alright, and I shouldn't expect any audio quality increase?
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:55 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
I did notice more sound
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:57 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post
Then you probably have the Mach 460 system If you had the Mach 1000 you'd have an amp in the trunk

---------- Post added at 12:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:44 AM ----------



Connects to my iPhone via Bluetooth and I can use my apps on there and it's a DVD player as well. It's very convenient. You have upgraded speakers so they will sound good anyways
well since he has the 460 he actually has 2 amps in the trunk already. the mach 1000 has 4

@op...as for install it's about a 20 minute process. since you have the 460 you'll need a dual harness. now believe it or not this is more tricky then one would think. all because ford had the great idea of using two separate year harnesses...one for the radio and one for the amps. there are two different kits that could be used and we can't help you on that till we see your oem plugs behind the radio. i actually had to piece mine together with the radio harness from a 99-03 kit and the amp harness from a 04-08 kit
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:57 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831 View Post
Just simple wiring and splicing
Exactly. And an aftermarket wiring harness which connects straight to your factory wiring harness so you won't have to cut the wiring harness itself. And also a dash kit to secure your new aftermarket stereo
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:58 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Well ill just see if it does for me as well. Thanks for all the info guys! It really helped!
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:00 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
No problem!
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:01 AM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post

well since he has the 460 he actually has 2 amps in the trunk already. the mach 1000 has 4
Oh really?? Where are the amps located? My 01 had the Mach 460 but I guess they jacked up the system because I've never seen any amps. And I also got it without a radio. Damn I shoulda done my research
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:02 AM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
like i said be careful to look at which harness you have. heck i have sitting here a brand new dual harness setup for 99-03 mach 460 stereos...if by chance yours uses that style i'd sell it to you for dirt cheap cause i'll never use it. just let me know once you pull your stereo out whats up
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:03 AM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh STK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post
like i said be careful to look at which harness you have. heck i have sitting here a brand new dual harness setup for 99-03 mach 460 stereos...if by chance yours uses that style i'd sell it to you for dirt cheap cause i'll never use it. just let me know once you pull your stereo out whats up
Alright I'll do that when I get back. Ill post a pic when I do.
Milehigh STK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:13 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.