Tachometer problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-02-2013, 05:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 103
Tachometer problem

My tachometer, or rpm gauge however you wanna call it, sits at zero all the time but if I knock on the plastic in front of it jumps up to the correct, or atleast I'm assuming correct, rpm reading. Other times if I punch it it will spin all the way around past redline and then sit under zero and not work at all and then occasionally spin all the way back to its proper location. How do I fix this and why does it do this?
iLandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2013, 07:20 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
SpeedyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hackensack
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 402
I believe you have connected it to the wrong wires. Recheck your circuits
SpeedyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 07:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 103
I've never touched the wires. It's stock gauges and wiring
iLandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2013, 08:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Blovett55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greenville
Region: Ohio
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLandon View Post
I've never touched the wires. It's stock gauges and wiring
Just take dash out and look, my girlfriends dodge neon had the problem with her speedo, same thing, hit it and come back, occasionally

Took apart, for first time, wires wer loose
And our new edge, not sure bout sn, but ours have problems under the dash, ever been driving and the digital odometer go out, hit it comes back on, ford some how messed up under the dash, just get under there and look, or if you don't want to, by an aftermarket tach with shift indicator, since I'm presuming urs is manual is y you care
Blovett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:04 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 103
No. It's auto. Just don't like stuff broke in it. Ill have to check I guess. Can I just solder the wire on?
iLandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:07 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Blovett55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greenville
Region: Ohio
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLandon View Post
No. It's auto. Just don't like stuff broke in it. Ill have to check I guess. Can I just solder the wire on?
Understandable
And if the wires broke or even not, yes you can solder it, if its not a plug in one, idk, never had to open mine up on mustang, neon was solder
Blovett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:11 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
Just take out the gauge cluster. Take off the bezel first. Two screws on top then it snaps off. Then the instrument cluster is by itself. Take of those screws on the cluster itself and it'll come out Nd it has two harnesses attached to it unplug and plug back in make sure they're not loose. Don't take the whole dash out. It's not that big of a deal trust me haha
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-871885420.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	499.4 KB
ID:	116494   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2279745031.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	515.1 KB
ID:	116495  

sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:16 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Blovett55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greenville
Region: Ohio
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam62893 View Post
Just take out the gauge cluster. Take off the bezel first. Two screws on top then it snaps off. Then the instrument cluster is by itself. Take of those screws on the cluster itself and it'll come out Nd it has two harnesses attached to it unplug and plug back in make sure they're not loose. Don't take the whole dash out. It's not that big of a deal trust me haha
Yeah figured someone has just I haven't had any problems with either of mine
Blovett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:17 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.