T5 for 3.8 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-15-2013, 08:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
T5 for 3.8

Does anybody know if the t5 from a foxbody with a 5.0 will work behind a 3.8? My car is a 96 and has the t45 and the second gear synchro is bad so it grinds going into gear almost every time. I can find t5s from the foxes all over the place and was wondering if it will fit behind the 3.8
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-15-2013, 09:58 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dpred03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Palm Harbor
Region: Florida
Posts: 68
I pretty sure you can make it fit you'll probably just need a different bell housing and maybe some other misc parts
Dpred03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:45 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
I was told somewhere that something's different but I can't remember what it was idk if it was the bell housing or the input shaft length or something
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-15-2013, 10:58 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dpred03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Palm Harbor
Region: Florida
Posts: 68
I think that the fox uses a world class t5,and so does the 99-04 which is built off the same frame as the 94-98. I think with a different bell housing and maybe a different drive shaft you should be able to make it fit no problem. Maybe someone with some more knowledge will tell you exactly for sure though.
Dpred03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
davidcseifert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 1,694
Same bell housing, both small block ford pattern.. Pretty sure it's The input shaft that is the wrong length to go between the two
__________________

BV heads, P&P lower, comp 218/226 cam, 4.2 bottom end, 3k stall, flow 40's, O/R x-pipe, Pacesetter lt's, SCT xcal2 (93 Ortizperformance tune), Windstar upper, 65mm tb, CAI, 8.8 w/ 3.73's, SFC's, cut springs, KYB shocks/struts, MM LCA's
blower/new cam soon
Dealer for Ortiz Performance, great tunes at a good price!
davidcseifert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 09:55 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Fox input shafts are 3/4" shorter as are the bellhousings to accommodate the shorter distance from back of block to shifter location.

You can use a fox trans with the fox bell, it will put your shifter a little closer to the dash in sn95 cars but if you have a steeda tri-ax or another short throw similar to that you won't even realize it. Even with the stock shifter, a day or two and you won't realize it. But you have to make sure if you use a fox trans that you use a fox bell, and if you use a sn95 trans, you have to use an sn95 bell. Otherwise the inputshaft will be either too short or too long to engage properly.

---------- Post added at 10:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:54 AM ----------

Oh, and if you use the fox trans/bell, you will have to trim a little metal away from the front of your shifter hole, not much at all, but once you start putting the trans in and test fitting everything you'll see what I'm talking about.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 02:13 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodRedStang View Post
Fox input shafts are 3/4" shorter as are the bellhousings to accommodate the shorter distance from back of block to shifter location.

You can use a fox trans with the fox bell, it will put your shifter a little closer to the dash in sn95 cars but if you have a steeda tri-ax or another short throw similar to that you won't even realize it. Even with the stock shifter, a day or two and you won't realize it. But you have to make sure if you use a fox trans that you use a fox bell, and if you use a sn95 trans, you have to use an sn95 bell. Otherwise the inputshaft will be either too short or too long to engage properly.

---------- Post added at 10:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:54 AM ----------

Oh, and if you use the fox trans/bell, you will have to trim a little metal away from the front of your shifter hole, not much at all, but once you start putting the trans in and test fitting everything you'll see what I'm talking about.
Ha I don't think it's gonna work then with a fox trans because I have a hurst short throw shifter and when I'm in 1st the shifters already pretty close to the dash. Could I take the input shaft and bell from my t45 and put them in a fox t5 because I know the two transmissions are pretty similar
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 03:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

Ha I don't think it's gonna work then with a fox trans because I have a hurst short throw shifter and when I'm in 1st the shifters already pretty close to the dash. Could I take the input shaft and bell from my t45 and put them in a fox t5 because I know the two transmissions are pretty similar
I don't know there man, I'm not familiar enough with the t45s. Look for scottydsntknow on here, he knows a good deal about transmissions. The only trans I'm familiar with is t5's.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 09:54 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodRedStang View Post

I don't know there man, I'm not familiar enough with the t45s. Look for scottydsntknow on here, he knows a good deal about transmissions. The only trans I'm familiar with is t5's.
Well thanks anyways I hope somebody on here who knows chimes in
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 10:37 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

Well thanks anyways I hope somebody on here who knows chimes in
No problem man.

if I remember correct the t45 wont bolt to a t5 bell, and the the t45 bell won't work with a small block.
and I think the output shafts are different, like not even interchangeable.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 10:48 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
A 4cyl tranny will work
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 07:28 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2300turboford View Post
A 4cyl tranny will work
That still is the fox trans that's 3/4 of an inch shorter and I can't use that
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 09:24 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

That still is the fox trans that's 3/4 of an inch shorter and I can't use that
exactly. your best bet is craigslist or picknpull/upullit places like that.. around here I can pick up 6cyl t5s for 75-150 all day long. no one does their research and looks down on the 6cyl t5s. this winter when I swap the aode out of my gt I'm planning on putting a 4-6cyl t5 in because I know I'm gonna bash on it with a new engine...why pay the extra 2-300 people want for a v8 trans when all t5s are inherently weak and going to fall apart at some point anyhow lol
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 11:46 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodRedStang View Post

exactly. your best bet is craigslist or picknpull/upullit places like that.. around here I can pick up 6cyl t5s for 75-150 all day long. no one does their research and looks down on the 6cyl t5s. this winter when I swap the aode out of my gt I'm planning on putting a 4-6cyl t5 in because I know I'm gonna bash on it with a new engine...why pay the extra 2-300 people want for a v8 trans when all t5s are inherently weak and going to fall apart at some point anyhow lol
The v6 trans from 94-04 wasn't a t5 it was the t45 which was a downgraded version of the t5 used for the v6. In the foxbodys the 4cyl used a t5 but it was downgraded just like the t45 for the v6. If you get a t5 from a 94-95 5.0 you'll be fine those from what I was told was the strongest t5 from factory
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 12:51 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dpred03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Palm Harbor
Region: Florida
Posts: 68
I'm pretty sure that the 99-04 v6 used a t5 the 94-98 might be different
Dpred03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 01:10 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dpred03 View Post
I'm pretty sure that the 99-04 v6 used a t5 the 94-98 might be different
95 was the last year they put the t5 in from factory. All 94-04 v6 used a t45. I think in 99-04 the gt trans changed to either a t3650 or a t56 or something like that
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 03:11 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

The v6 trans from 94-04 wasn't a t5 it was the t45 which was a downgraded version of the t5 used for the v6. In the foxbodys the 4cyl used a t5 but it was downgraded just like the t45 for the v6. If you get a t5 from a 94-95 5.0 you'll be fine those from what I was told was the strongest t5 from factory
94-95 v6 and v8 had t5s, they changed to the t45 in 1996 when they switched to the modular 4.6 v8.

---------- Post added at 04:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:09 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

95 was the last year they put the t5 in from factory. All 94-04 v6 used a t45. I think in 99-04 the gt trans changed to either a t3650 or a t56 or something like that
they had t45s from 96 up til 05 I think. t56 is a 6 speed.

I assure you, 94 and 95 were t5's
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 04:49 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodRedStang View Post

94-95 v6 and v8 had t5s, they changed to the t45 in 1996 when they switched to the modular 4.6 v8.

---------- Post added at 04:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:09 PM ----------



they had t45s from 96 up til 05 I think. t56 is a 6 speed.

I assure you, 94 and 95 were t5's
01-04 GTs used the t3650 5speed transmission
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 06:40 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

01-04 GTs used the t3650 5speed transmission
just looked it up again.
94-95 was t5 v6/gt/cobra
96-01 was t45 on gt/cobra
94-04 v6 still had the t5
01-10 was tr3650 on the 01 cobra/01-up gt
95 cobra R had tr3550
and at some point they used the t56, I believe those were in terminators.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 09:18 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dpred03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Palm Harbor
Region: Florida
Posts: 68
T56 is definitely the 03-04 terminators only
Dpred03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 09:30 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dpred03 View Post
T56 is definitely the 03-04 terminators only
That's what I thought, I've never seen another sn or NE that had a 6 speed. I've seen a termi in person 1 time.. lol
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:25 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
mummert_96v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new oxford
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodRedStang View Post

just looked it up again.
94-95 was t5 v6/gt/cobra
96-01 was t45 on gt/cobra
94-04 v6 still had the t5
01-10 was tr3650 on the 01 cobra/01-up gt
95 cobra R had tr3550
and at some point they used the t56, I believe those were in terminators.
94-04 v6 didn't use the t5 they used t45 that's what's in my 96 six banger from factory
mummert_96v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 11:28 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
BloodRedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central
Region: Ohio
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

94-04 v6 didn't use the t5 they used t45 that's what's in my 96 six banger from factory
Then it wasn't factory.
I promise you, they were t5.
4 cyl 5 speeds in the foxes? T5s.
V8 5 speeds in the foxes up to 95? T5s.
6cyl 5 speeds from 94-at least 99? T5s.
I'm not going to argue this fact anymore. Ill provide links to info pages if you'd like.
BloodRedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 02:06 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
davidcseifert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 1,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by mummert_96v6 View Post

94-04 v6 didn't use the t5 they used t45 that's what's in my 96 six banger from factory
All the sn V6's are T5's...
__________________

BV heads, P&P lower, comp 218/226 cam, 4.2 bottom end, 3k stall, flow 40's, O/R x-pipe, Pacesetter lt's, SCT xcal2 (93 Ortizperformance tune), Windstar upper, 65mm tb, CAI, 8.8 w/ 3.73's, SFC's, cut springs, KYB shocks/struts, MM LCA's
blower/new cam soon
Dealer for Ortiz Performance, great tunes at a good price!
davidcseifert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:13 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.