car feels like its choking - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-22-2013, 10:55 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
PiojoA7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: California
Posts: 182
car feels like its choking

Recently when step on the gas my car feels like its chocking. It won't accelerate normally. I recently installed an CAI from AM. Maybe that's what making it not accelerate properly. I have a 2003 manual transmission.
PiojoA7x is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-22-2013, 11:04 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
Check to see if any air leaks

---------- Post added at 10:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:04 PM ----------

Also do u have a tuner or did u reset the car
kickerofdoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
PiojoA7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: California
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickerofdoom View Post
Check to see if any air leaks

---------- Post added at 10:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:04 PM ----------

Also do u have a tuner or did u reset the car
I'll check for leaks and I do not have a tuner nor did I reset my car. How do I reset my car. Do I disconnect the battery?
PiojoA7x is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-22-2013, 11:46 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
did you damage the MAF when you took it from the stock air box, or when you installed it in the CAI? i've done that before on a different vehicle is why i ask.
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:49 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
PiojoA7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: California
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post
did you damage the MAF when you took it from the stock air box, or when you installed it in the CAI? i've done that before on a different vehicle is why i ask.
I was thinking about that. I could of possibly damaged it. Is there a way to fix that or do I have to get another one?
PiojoA7x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:53 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
pretty much if it's broke you'll be buying a new one. check to make sure it's installed right first though. try unplugging it all together...that'll force your car into a minimum crawl mode. see if it still chokes like crazy
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:04 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
PiojoA7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: California
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slosix View Post
pretty much if it's broke you'll be buying a new one. check to make sure it's installed right first though. try unplugging it all together...that'll force your car into a minimum crawl mode. see if it still chokes like crazy
So by unplugging it all together do you mean from the throttle body and take it out completely?
PiojoA7x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:10 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiojoA7x View Post
So by unplugging it all together do you mean from the throttle body and take it out completely?
no thats the IAC...the MAF is what was inside the old air box. see the black box on the tube...see if it's installed right...if so unplug it and try turning the car over.

__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:22 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
Unplug the battery to let the car relearn the air.
kickerofdoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 09:15 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
PiojoA7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: California
Posts: 182
So today as I was about to take apart the CAI to see if installed something wrong, I noticed that there is sort of a plug in the pipe that is connected between the throttle and the MAF sensor. It looks like something should be inserted in there but there is nothing in my car that should go there. It's a little black rubber plug. I see other mustangs that have connect a cable in there. I don't have that cable. I think I need something to plug that black rubber hole. I think that's what's making my car not accelerate properly because there's a gap. I have the SR CAI from AM for a 2002 v6 mustang.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2302969830.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	130.8 KB
ID:	132042  
PiojoA7x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 10:22 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
bkh1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: York
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiojoA7x View Post
So today as I was about to take apart the CAI to see if installed something wrong, I noticed that there is sort of a plug in the pipe that is connected between the throttle and the MAF sensor. It looks like something should be inserted in there but there is nothing in my car that should go there. It's a little black rubber plug. I see other mustangs that have connect a cable in there. I don't have that cable. I think I need something to plug that black rubber hole. I think that's what's making my car not accelerate properly because there's a gap. I have the SR CAI from AM for a 2002 v6 mustang.
Just get a plug/cork at an auto parts store or do what I did and use a butt connector thing to plug it lol. I think its the newer cars that don't have anything that fills that spot
bkh1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 12:33 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam62893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colton
Region: California
Posts: 2,029
The hole is for the temperature sensor. I have used electrical tape and a big nut to screw in there. You can also go all the way and weld it shut
sam62893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:03 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
PiojoA7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: California
Posts: 182
Do you guys think that's what making my car choke when I accelerate?
PiojoA7x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:12 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
bkh1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: York
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiojoA7x View Post
Do you guys think that's what making my car choke when I accelerate?
It's not helping even if its not the problem haha
bkh1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 12:55 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
BamaStang93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alabama
Region: Alabama
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiojoA7x View Post
Do you guys think that's what making my car choke when I accelerate?
That very well could be your problem right there. Or like 1slosix said, it's your MAF. Take some of these guy's advice and just close it up. It definitely couldn't hurt.
BamaStang93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 12:47 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
davidcseifert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 1,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh1994 View Post

Just get a plug/cork at an auto parts store or do what I did and use a butt connector thing to plug it lol. I think its the newer cars that don't have anything that fills that spot
Yeah 01-04 have built in iat in the maf


That's a big vacuum leak after the maf it's hurting something..
__________________

BV heads, P&P lower, comp 218/226 cam, 4.2 bottom end, 3k stall, flow 40's, O/R x-pipe, Pacesetter lt's, SCT xcal2 (93 Ortizperformance tune), Windstar upper, 65mm tb, CAI, 8.8 w/ 3.73's, SFC's, cut springs, KYB shocks/struts, MM LCA's
blower/new cam soon
Dealer for Ortiz Performance, great tunes at a good price!
davidcseifert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



02:53 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.