Crazy plan for dual exhaust. THOUGHTS?? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-04-2014, 03:02 PM   #1

Region: Connecticut
Crazy plan for dual exhaust. THOUGHTS??

Alright, before I begin let me set the background. I have a 2004 v6 Mustang. IMPORTANT NOTE: I lowered the car by cutting springs (probably sits 1.5 in lower? never measured.)

Anyway, the goal/mission: To convert my single exhaust mustang to an Pacesetter h-pipe dual exhaust set up with Flowmaster Super 44s for AS CHEAP AS POSSIBLE. This is where I need the help from MustangEvolution. Review these possible routes I can take and reply with thoughts/concerns or other routes I didnt think of....

Also, I am a teen driver and by no means mechanically knowledgable in the field but have done extensive research on nearly everything I mention. I have cute springs, replaced shocks and done a CAI myself with a bunch of appearance mods etc.

Route 1.) A local exhaust shop said they would do what I want for about $350 *IF* I purchase the mufflers myself. 350+160(Flowmaster mufflers)= $510 total. (The shop said that if I buy the H-pipe he could take off maybe $100). So between $510-555

Route 2.) In an attempt to save money on the cost of labor... cutting the y-pipe myself, installing the h-pipe myself and driving to the exhaust shop to have them finish the job (welding mufflers and the rest etc). I also would encounter issues getting to the exhaust shop because I would be driving without mufflers or any pipes at all (dangerous? Loud? legal issues?)
$160 for mufflers + $145 for H-pipe + ???? for labor.

Things to consider: How can I reduce bottom line costs? Should I have the shop custom fab an H-pipe? Would that reduce or increase labor/bottomline costs? Should I do it myself? Is there something I haven't thought about?