HELP PLEASE - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-25-2014, 09:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

HELP PLEASE

Can someone PLEASE give me a detailed description of what an exhaust system is and what the components are from headers, manifolds,midpipes,muffler, etc., I just know words but I have no knowledge on what goes together, what every part is, what to buy..etc, etc.,
GodKreatedDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-25-2014, 10:42 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Florida

Top is your stock v6 exhaust. Bottom is what you're aiming for.
Detailed guides:
Understanding Mustang Exhaust Systems
How to Upgrade a 1999-2004 V6 Mustang's Exhaust

As to what you should buy, there's so many options. Do you want performance? Sound? etc. Along with cost of the actual exhaust system factor in costs to install it. Also look up exhaust clips on youtube to get an idea.
Miri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 11:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Mississippi
First you start with the headers. They are not in the picture above. Headers connect directly to the head. Next are the cats. The first 4 kind of round things you see. Next is the mid pipe. That is where the v connects. On the v-8 the mid pipe is specifically a h pipe. Looks like a h so they made the name easy. The next big round thing is your muffler. This is where a lot of sound is created.

http://blog.modbargains.com/exhaust-system-101/

new engine,1.7 rocker arms,Pipes exhaust, shorty cats , shorty headers,under drive and overdrive pulleys,4.2 upper plenum, throttle body spacer, cold air intake, stage one clutch, shorty shifter, and tune. 8.8 in storage
samuelsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-25-2014, 02:40 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular