Won't drive - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-06-2014, 05:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
Won't drive

My car will start, but as soon as I put it in drive or reverse it shuts off. Please help!


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2014, 05:51 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
When it is idling in park or neutral, how many RPM's is the tachometer indicating?
Will the engine stay running if you give it a little gas when you put the transmission in gear?
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 05:57 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
It usually will be right under 1 in the RPMs but when I put it in drive or reverse it just quite. But it I put it in neutral an sorta rev it up an keep it there an put it In drive it will go. But if I make a complete stop with out having to put it in neutral an keep it rev up it will quit


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

---------- Post added at 10:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:57 PM ----------

An now the RPMs is like half of 0 an 1 an it usually did not stay there


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2014, 06:06 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
could try cleaning your IAC and if that works go buy a new one.
does it shake and shudder when stalling or just shut off?
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
It should be idling at about 750 RPM's.
How does the engine run otherwise? Is it missing or have you noticed a recent loss of power?
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:07 PM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
My parents expodition did this and it was a vaccum leak

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws, Jlt Series 3, Bama 91r tune
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:10 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
It should be idling at about 750 RPM's.
How does the engine run otherwise? Is it missing or have you noticed a recent loss of powe?

really? mine starts at like 1250-1500 then after 30 seconds will drop to 1k
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
How much did it cost to fix


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:14 PM   #9
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_117 View Post
How much did it cost to fix


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
In their case it was a matter of finding it which happened to be all the way in the back of the engine. It was just a cheap rubber coupling. It was like $15. Could be something to look for though

05 Gt Premium Performance White, flowmaster outlaws, Jlt Series 3, Bama 91r tune
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:14 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboCobra View Post
really? mine starts at like 1250-1500 then after 30 seconds will drop to 1k
Your car is an automatic also, isn't it?

The idle may be slightly higher on the auto cars.

500 is too low though...
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:15 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
We'll when I turn it out on shakes my car a little bit. But before it would not shake. An the RPMs are different now. An i have to hold my foot on the gas to drive it or it will die


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:16 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
It is an auto an it's at 500 normally it was 900 1000 RPMs before it messed up.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:19 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_117 View Post
We'll when I turn it out on shakes my car a little bit. But before it would not shake. An the RPMs are different now. An i have to hold my foot on the gas to drive it or it will die


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Like Nate and TC both say, check for vacuum leaks first and there is also a chance that your Idle Air Control valve is malfunctioning.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:20 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
you say it stalls when you stop. Be careful and try putting it in neutral then coming to a stop. If it doesn't stall out then its your TC
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:21 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
Abbreviated your name. But thanks for tellin me the possibilities! But I can still drive the car without making anythig worse???


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:26 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_117 View Post
Abbreviated your name. But thanks for tellin me the possibilities! But I can still drive the car without making anythig worse???


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
You can drive it but it isn't safe to have your car stalling all of the time so be careful and try to get this fixed ASAP.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:26 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
What do you mean stalling


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:28 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
I am getting it checked monday. I will have this fixed because I can't afford to not drive. I have a job an school an the stang is my steed lol just kidding but yea I will have this fix asap


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:29 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
lol I mean torque convertor. Its possible its not unlocking.
That or vacuum leak, dirty IAC, bad coils, boots/springs or plugs. dirty fuel filter or low fuel pressure.
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:29 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_117 View Post
What do you mean stalling


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
I mean your engine stops running.

And what TC meant when he said "tc" is your Torque converter.

Haha.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:31 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
Oh! We'll i just hope it doesn't cost much..:/


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:34 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
I hope that it's nothing serious as well.
Let us know what you found the problem to be.

Good luck!
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:35 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
I have another question. Could it possibly be a mass air flow sensor


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:38 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
do you get a check engine light?
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:39 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
Yes when this occurred the service engine soon light came on.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:44 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
perfect! is the light still on? go to autozone and have them connect there code reader for free and tell you the codes, make sure to write the codes down.
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:46 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_117 View Post
Yes when this occurred the service engine soon light came on.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Well find a way to retrieve the code and we will be able to tell you what's wrong.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:49 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboCobra View Post
perfect! is the light still on? go to autozone and have them connect there code reader for free and tell you the codes, make sure to write the codes down.
For some reason, none of the auto parts stores in CA will do that for you.

Its probably some "union" rule or something...
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:51 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
well then go buy one from Walmart use it and return it lol
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:51 PM   #30
ME Bloodhound
Staff
 
Soccerluvr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento/Bay Area
Region: California
Posts: 14,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
For some reason, none of the auto parts stores in CA will do that for you.



Its probably some "union" rule or something...

Yea I've tried to have a few places do it. Doesn't seen like they are anymore.


Bullitts are better than Bullets
__________________

Bullitt build paused pending graduation

HID end all thread
Soccerluvr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:55 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboCobra View Post
well then go buy one from Walmart use it and return it lol
Haha.
They are wise to that "trick".
Most places charge a re-stocking fee on returned scanners...
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:58 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
I will go their now!


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 06:59 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerluvr4 View Post
Yea I've tried to have a few places do it. Doesn't seen like they are anymore.


Bullitts are better than Bullets
Nope.

I bought one at Harbor Freight.
And I only had to buy it because I was too careless to plug in one of my 02 sensors all of the way when I changed them.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 07:01 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
Il go now


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 07:36 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
joe_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 662
EGR vacuum regulator circuit, throttle pedal position sensor, EGR pressure sensor and intake air temperature senso


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

---------- Post added at 12:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:36 AM ----------

That is what the thing tracked that is wrong with my car.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
joe_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To drive or not to drive 2011 Kona Blue 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 41 01-26-2012 09:53 PM
68 coupe 289 lights come on but won't turn over and headlights won't come on Sixty8 Coupe Classic Mustangs 2 03-07-2009 08:52 PM
Look what x-mas gift i won on ebay! HELL YEAH!!!!!!!! Autobadges.com The Bar 17 11-08-2003 03:59 AM
Look what I just won on ebay hehehehhhe Danger Dude Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 18 11-03-2003 08:42 AM
Lookie what I won Yesterday at the meet!! Rellik The Bar 20 09-23-2003 09:11 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



03:30 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.