New oil pressure sending unit, still 0 oil pressure - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-18-2015, 04:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Iryan7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chilhowie
Region: Virginia
Posts: 219
New oil pressure sending unit, still 0 oil pressure

Even after replacing my Oil Pressure Sending Unit, my car still reads "000" oil and the gauge stays where it's always been. The DTC code, however, is no longer showing a bad Sending Unit. Any help would be appreciated Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1426715773.424213.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	177830Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1426715816.378070.jpg
Views:	307
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	177831


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Iryan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2015, 01:43 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Iryan7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chilhowie
Region: Virginia
Posts: 219
Anybody?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Iryan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 09:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Iryan7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chilhowie
Region: Virginia
Posts: 219
Bump


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Iryan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2015, 10:11 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: jacksonville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 39
how does the vehicle run? any problems
99whitev6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 02:32 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Iryan7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chilhowie
Region: Virginia
Posts: 219
Car runs fine, I'm just completely stumped.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Iryan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 03:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: jacksonville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 39
drop your oil pan and check your pickup screen it may be clogged with garbage or just all gummed up
99whitev6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 04:23 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jbone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oceanside
Region: California
Posts: 435
1st time I have seen that, try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes to clear the error and see if that works! The pressure looks ok from what the gauge is showing so don't think it would be the pickup screen, but would not hurt to check except for a new gasket! I had a 2000 GT and never new you could get anything there except millage reset lol!
Jbone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 05:26 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jbone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oceanside
Region: California
Posts: 435
What to do if you get a trouble code
First off don't panic, these are not OBDII codes, call your local Ford dealer and they will give you more info. Some of these codes are NORMAL like when the dealer needs to program a new key for your stang, an unprogrammed key will be inserted for this procedure, you may get a code 9601, this does not mean you have a problem with your stang. You can clear codes by disconnecting your battery for a while and reconnecting.

Found this at the very end of the article on how to turn on this feature on the 99-2000 mustangs.


Mustangworld HEC Instrument Cluster Diagnostics
Jbone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 09:17 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: jacksonville
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 39
alright did some research... do not believe that reading all its really there for is to say if it peaks above spec the oil pressure sensor is nothing but a switch so it really cant do on the fly readings you can remedy this by putting in some aftermarket gauges.. if you really wanted to see the oil pressure you could hook up a mechanical oil pressure gauge
99whitev6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 04:15 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: HARTWELL LAKE AREA
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 437
Sounds like a cluster problem,sending unit is just a switch,either on or off not a real pressure reading
ALLYDRIVER1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Pressure Sending Unit? sixpac 1979-1995 Mustang GT 13 07-16-2012 10:06 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:29 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.