cam swap without removing the engine? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-04-2004, 10:56 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to ridelikehell
cam swap without removing the engine?

as the topic says...can it be done? 99+ v6 we're talkin here.

thanks!
ridelikehell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2004, 11:03 PM   #2
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Yes it can. I've seen pictures. But the radiator has to come out, heads, all accesorys. You just about have to take apart the entire engine bay.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 08:30 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
ummm Dom, have you ever done the swap?

To swap a cam, you need to pull:

Upper, Lower, waterpump/front cover, power steering PULLEY only, and then you take off the timing chain and some other things and the cam slides right out.

edit: Taking the fan out gives you a good couple more inches of room to work. But the radiator can stay.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2004, 11:04 AM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Radiator does not have to come out only have to take off the fan. The 3.8 cam is not very long and easily passes between the motor and the Radiator. I did it !!!!!
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 11:29 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
Radiator does not have to come out only have to take off the fan. The 3.8 cam is not very long and easily passes between the motor and the Radiator. I did it !!!!!

thanks for re-itterating
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 09:10 PM   #6
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangin99
ummm Dom, have you ever done the swap?

To swap a cam, you need to pull:

Upper, Lower, waterpump/front cover, power steering PULLEY only, and then you take off the timing chain and some other things and the cam slides right out.

edit: Taking the fan out gives you a good couple more inches of room to work. But the radiator can stay.
No I haven't. But the picture i saw of it, they guy did take the radiator out.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 09:20 PM   #7
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to ridelikehell
i know you need to pull the heads, intakes and all that s**t out, I just don't have an engine hoist and I don't wanna pay an arm an a leg for something that I can do myself as I've done cam swaps before, I just wanted to make sure there was enough clearance, I have no problems taking out the rad if need be, but i'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Thanks for your help everyone!
ridelikehell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 10:31 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by ridelikehell
i know you need to pull the heads, intakes and all that s**t out, I just don't have an engine hoist and I don't wanna pay an arm an a leg for something that I can do myself as I've done cam swaps before, I just wanted to make sure there was enough clearance, I have no problems taking out the rad if need be, but i'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Thanks for your help everyone!

did you even read my first reply?

if you pull the heads and all your accessories, your going to sit there and wonder why you just wasted all that time and money on new head gaskets/bolts.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 11:57 PM   #9
Dom
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 2,391
Send a message via AIM to Dom
He may have new heads.
__________________
- Matthew | matthew98@gmail.com
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 12:21 AM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
To pull the cam you dont need to take off the heads. But most people are changing the heads when they do a cam. What is this about a hoist. Totally unecessary unless you are taking out the entire engine !!!! hell the aluminum heads dont weight squat. The biggest concern is the Cam position sensor. You need to make sure you are top dead center when you disassemble. The CPS has got to go in exactly as it came out or your car wont start or run very very bad. It send the signal to the coil pack for proper spark timing
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 04:18 PM   #11
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to ridelikehell
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangin99
did you even read my first reply?

if you pull the heads and all your accessories, your going to sit there and wonder why you just wasted all that time and money on new head gaskets/bolts.
how does what you just said have anything to do with your first reply..in your first reply you said what has to come off...how does that entail me sitting there and wondering what i wasted time and money on?...which I wouldn't mind you explaining to me seeing as I have no idea why that will be a waste of my time...
maybe you could explain it all to me actually since i seem to be such an idiot and I aparantly don't know too much...and why the hell do i need new bolts...gaskets obviously, but why bolts?

thanks.
ridelikehell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 04:20 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to ridelikehell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
To pull the cam you dont need to take off the heads. But most people are changing the heads when they do a cam. What is this about a hoist. Totally unecessary unless you are taking out the entire engine !!!! hell the aluminum heads dont weight squat. The biggest concern is the Cam position sensor. You need to make sure you are top dead center when you disassemble. The CPS has got to go in exactly as it cam out or your car wont start or run very very bad. It send the signal to the coil pack for proper spark timing
thanks for your help man...about a hoist i was just saying that i don't have one, so if the cam swap meant i had to remove the engine then i wouldn't be able to...but since it doesn't have to come out im good...
except for the fact that stangin99 thinks i'll be wasting my time, which im hoping he'll explain to me.
ridelikehell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 05:00 PM   #13
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
If you take your heads off which you dont to just change a cam you need new head bolts. Head bolts are really a one time use item as are gaskets and such
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 05:31 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to ridelikehell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
If you take your heads off which you dont to just change a cam you need new head bolts. Head bolts are really a one time use item as are gaskets and such
oh right on I didn't know they couldn't be reused...thanks!.....

I actually am getting a different set of heads aswell...that's what I was going to do first, and I just figured i'd put a more aggressive cam in while im in there.
ridelikehell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 05:46 PM   #15
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
Then you need to get more head bolts or studs
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 08:42 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by ridelikehell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danger Dude
To pull the cam you dont need to take off the heads. But most people are changing the heads when they do a cam. What is this about a hoist. Totally unecessary unless you are taking out the entire engine !!!! hell the aluminum heads dont weight squat. The biggest concern is the Cam position sensor. You need to make sure you are top dead center when you disassemble. The CPS has got to go in exactly as it cam out or your car wont start or run very very bad. It send the signal to the coil pack for proper spark timing
thanks for your help man...about a hoist i was just saying that i don't have one, so if the cam swap meant i had to remove the engine then i wouldn't be able to...but since it doesn't have to come out im good...
except for the fact that stangin99 thinks i'll be wasting my time, which im hoping he'll explain to me.

because I told you you didnt need to pull the heads and accessories yet you said here
Quote:
know you need to pull the heads, intakes and all that s**t out, I just don't have an engine hoist and I don't wanna pay an arm an a leg for something that I can do myself as I've done cam swaps before, I just wanted to make sure there was enough clearance, I have no problems taking out the rad if need be, but i'll cross that bridge when I come to it.
that you know you have to take the heads off

You never said you were swapping heads. If your just doing a cam install, pulling your heads is a huge waste of time/money and is just stupid.

If you ARE swapping heads then you NEED new head gaskets and bolts as they are both one time use only. If you want, you can spend some more and get ARP Studs which are re-useable about 15 times.
__________________
1998 Subaru Legacy L Sedan
New Hottness

1999 V6 5-speed
14.6 @ 95 w/ 2.22 60'
Wrecked
stangin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cam swap juced302 1979-1995 Mustang GT 0 06-04-2009 03:25 PM
cam swap how to's white 98 gt 1996-2004 Mustang GT 3 01-07-2007 05:50 AM
Cam Swap... stuck, any help? Invictus 1996-2004 Mustang GT 21 12-28-2006 10:29 PM
Cam swap Jarrell Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 01-09-2004 01:33 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



01:31 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.