cheap effective way to move and store an engine? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-28-2004, 09:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Send a message via AIM to tire
cheap effective way to move and store an engine?

i may be getting an SC motor from LA (the state) and driving back with it to TX in my passenger well with the seat removed. can i get some tips for how to move the thing, it's a shortblock. maybe some wood on the carpet to hold it up? also, how should it be stored? i don't have a garage so it'll go in a spare room. i was thinking some friends could help and we could put it on some 2x4 sections and keep it on the ground. or should i really try to find an engine mount (is that it's name?). help, i'm a newbie and i can't get up.
tire is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-28-2004, 10:57 AM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy

first major flaw. how are you gonna lift an engine into your passenger side, and how are you gonna lift it out?
Old 01-28-2004, 11:00 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

i have freshmen at my command, plus friends if i can't find any fish. how heavy is it? we are a strong lot.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-28-2004, 11:20 AM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy

i would say that a shorblock weighs about 400+lbs or so in a small area. not many places to grab onto. only 2 people would really ever have a grip on it at the same time. and not to mention how you would get it into the car. you'd have to take your door off somehow. just go rent a uhaul. cheaper, easier, and it has a ramp that you can slide it up on (with rollers)
Old 01-31-2004, 06:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas