i have a broken ecu. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-07-2004, 09:37 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 113
i have a broken ecu.

maybe someone here can help! i just went to a local shop and had the guy hook up his snap-on scanner to my comp. for $50. i'v had my check engine light on for a few months now and didn't worry to much about it after testing my sensors and the only diff. was a delayed throttle response...anyway i didn't want to see the light anymore. so the guy hooks up the scanner and tries to connect but he can't. he checks to see if it's properly connected and nothing. the scanner reads "error". he can't retrieve any codes! however he is able to turn off the engine light but it came back on. so then he told me that he was almost 100% sure that i need a new computer! has anyone had this problem? any help is greatly appreciated...thanks alot guys!

ps. i have never touched or tampered with the ecu. one day i shut my car off for refueling and when i turned it on the eng. light came on and immediately i noticed a change in my throttle response. i checked the fuel cap and it was tightly closed. regardless the comp. should have stored codes right! my comp. is obd-ii on my '94. can something like this just happen to the ecu?
__________________
All pigs are useless!
widowvirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2004, 11:19 AM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to Falcon Send a message via MSN to Falcon Send a message via Yahoo to Falcon
my guess is something came lose like a wire or something, yesterday i put a new one in my bros camaro and i cant see how that would break... but other than like a wire that came loose i have no idea, maybe someone else here can help and as far as cel he probably just cleared the codes, then the computer read the problem again thus the light came back
__________________
-Derek
1999 Trans Am WS6
Full Stainless Magnaflow Exhaust, Stainless Longtubes/Off Road Y-Pipe, QTP E-Cutout, HP Tuners, Super Sucker Ram Air Kit, BMR Tunnel Brace/Driveshaft Safety Loop, Hotchkis Panhard Bar, Hypertech 160 Thermostat, CF Whisper Air Lid, Corvette FRCs, K&N, !AIR, !EGR
Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 06:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 113
yeah, but he couldn't read any codes. everything that hooks up to the comp. is tight!
__________________
All pigs are useless!
widowvirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2004, 07:51 PM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to Falcon Send a message via MSN to Falcon Send a message via Yahoo to Falcon
weird
__________________
-Derek
1999 Trans Am WS6
Full Stainless Magnaflow Exhaust, Stainless Longtubes/Off Road Y-Pipe, QTP E-Cutout, HP Tuners, Super Sucker Ram Air Kit, BMR Tunnel Brace/Driveshaft Safety Loop, Hotchkis Panhard Bar, Hypertech 160 Thermostat, CF Whisper Air Lid, Corvette FRCs, K&N, !AIR, !EGR
Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 08:37 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 113
yeah, very wierd... i think i'm gonna try a new ecu...how much do you think one goes for!
__________________
All pigs are useless!
widowvirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 10:46 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: New Hampshire
Posts: 386
Send a message via AIM to Smokedya95stang
a good amount.
__________________
-Charles
Smokedya95stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 02:12 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Rick0636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,552
Send a message via AIM to Rick0636 Send a message via Yahoo to Rick0636
A cheaper alternative might be to get one from a local junk yard....
__________________
Rick Kilpatrick, AAS Automotive Systems Tech, Alamance Community College, Class of 99. 06 5 speed manual Mustang with Pony pkg : GT Mac Mufflers, true duals with one custom pipe. 2.5" system. GT bumper cover, all installed March 7&8 2006. AFE Stage 1 CAI, Motoblue Underdrive pulley, GT aluminum shifter knob, honeycomb rear blackout panel,and dash kit installed. Roush hood scoop and side window louvers installed. SS taillight trim has been installed, new alum. GT steering wheel installed.
Rick0636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:17 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to Falcon Send a message via MSN to Falcon Send a message via Yahoo to Falcon
:stupid: the camaro one was 50 bucks...stangs? i have no idea, but theres no need for a new one, so like rick said check out the good ole jy
__________________
-Derek
1999 Trans Am WS6
Full Stainless Magnaflow Exhaust, Stainless Longtubes/Off Road Y-Pipe, QTP E-Cutout, HP Tuners, Super Sucker Ram Air Kit, BMR Tunnel Brace/Driveshaft Safety Loop, Hotchkis Panhard Bar, Hypertech 160 Thermostat, CF Whisper Air Lid, Corvette FRCs, K&N, !AIR, !EGR
Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 06:16 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 113
yeah, but those ecu's are old too and probly have moisture or something from sitting so long...i don't know...anyway i've been to 2 huge junkyards and no luck!
__________________
All pigs are useless!
widowvirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 07:04 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
dapack69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Region: Florida
Posts: 114
Send a message via Yahoo to dapack69
I work at Autozone part time so you can take my advise or leave it.

I had to replace the computer in mine and it was covered under warrenty. Always it would have cost me about $300 I don't know how many miles or how old your car is, but ford has an eight year/80,000 warrenty on their computers and cats.

One way to see if its the computer itself is to go to Autozone and ask them to get your computer read. They offer it as a free service. If they can't retrieve any codes then the computer is shot. Bad news is autozone can not get computers for the mustang cause of the different makes for them.
__________________
I have a bone stock steering wheel.

http://www.gotstang.com/profile.php?dapack69#jump
dapack69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ecu questions Mikemx250 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 10-29-2008 12:29 PM
ECU upgrades DMAC Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 05-13-2007 10:15 PM
ecu chips cmanzi79 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 2 11-04-2005 06:24 PM
ecu chiping tim11 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 16 11-04-2005 07:52 AM
ecu upgrade? koloaboy_327 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 2 02-02-2004 05:48 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



04:35 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.