Does hypertech work good? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-25-2004, 07:58 PM   #1
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Does hypertech work good?

I am not getting one but have been wondering how well these things work.

http://www.wholesale411.com/mattie32...ducts_id=8931&
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2004, 08:32 PM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
slvr2000stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,160
They barely scratch the surface of properly tuning.
__________________
Custom Delk motor now DOA
2003 SVT Lightning #1059 of 4270
2000 Vert 4R70W
Only buy from vendors that test and stand behind their products
slvr2000stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:45 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to Falcon Send a message via MSN to Falcon Send a message via Yahoo to Falcon
ive heard on pre 99's they do alright but on 99+'s they dont work so hot
__________________
-Derek
1999 Trans Am WS6
Full Stainless Magnaflow Exhaust, Stainless Longtubes/Off Road Y-Pipe, QTP E-Cutout, HP Tuners, Super Sucker Ram Air Kit, BMR Tunnel Brace/Driveshaft Safety Loop, Hotchkis Panhard Bar, Hypertech 160 Thermostat, CF Whisper Air Lid, Corvette FRCs, K&N, !AIR, !EGR
Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2004, 09:32 PM   #4
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by slvr2000stang
They barely scratch the surface of properly tuning.
Thats what I figured
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 01:26 AM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
No, they are a complete waste of money. Go with SCT. I have the racer package. It's more useful, and you can make your own tunes. No waiting in the mail any more.
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 06:31 AM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
OK Rob I need to know what you had to do to make a GT Gauge assembly work in your V6!!!!!
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 08:29 AM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
first you need to have the correct gauge cluster, the entire assembly like from a 94-95 GT. You can use a 96-98 GT's unit, but the tech will read wrong until you change the gauges, just the actual face plate. Does that make sense? That will get you the right gauges then you have to change the change the speedo drive gear inside the tranny. The stock one is a yellow 7 tooth, you need a green one, I think it has 8 teeth. Not the one you change for gears, that's the speedo DRIVEN gear. That's all.
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 08:38 AM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
So I need a 94-95 Gt gauge, a green tranny gear Wow that seem easy. The tach and speedo is accurate, or at least very close??
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 10:36 AM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
slvr2000stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97Stallion
No, they are a complete waste of money. Go with SCT. I have the racer package. It's more useful, and you can make your own tunes. No waiting in the mail any more.
Agreed. The racer package if you can afford it rocks. I have 3 tunes stored in my flasher. Everyday, Track, and Dyno.
__________________
Custom Delk motor now DOA
2003 SVT Lightning #1059 of 4270
2000 Vert 4R70W
Only buy from vendors that test and stand behind their products
slvr2000stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hypertech power programmer seibman 1996-2004 Mustang GT 4 06-04-2010 08:15 AM
Good place, good prices? crazeflier07 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 6 11-09-2006 08:48 PM
diablo or hypertech Racin02GT 1996-2004 Mustang GT 9 07-18-2006 12:32 AM
Hypertech Power Programer DropTop_Stang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 7 02-25-2004 10:13 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:33 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.