Computers/Chips - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-13-2004, 05:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
Computers/Chips

I'm interested in getting a chip but don't know which. I got a 2004 3.9L V-6 w/ overdrive(do all have overdriver and are all 2004 3.9L?) and I'm looking to make a few upgrades nothing hardcore. I want room to expand and not have a poorer quality chip then the rest. I'm really looking to increase top speed. Don't want it to cut off at 115, wanna be able to run 160mph. What chip do I get?
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2004, 05:27 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
Why are my messages being moved from where I post to, V-6 Tech.
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:28 PM   #3
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
www.americanmotorsport.com

Where are you going to go 160 at? Your going to have to do alot of work to the engine to get it to do 160
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2004, 05:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
just a chip isnt gonna let you go 160 you got to do alot of mods to hit 160
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:29 PM   #5
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
if they're getting moved, you're posting in the wrong forum.

You won't be able to see that kind of gain from just a chip. The only reason you should run that fast, or close to it, is if you're on a track. And I doubt you're headed to the track with just a chip.

I believe it is possible to disable the speed limiter with a chip, but your speedo only goes to 120...
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:29 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
if i didnt type so slow i could have beat brent
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:29 PM   #7
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Chip Questions are the same for all year mustangs and can be put into one forum. The V6 Tech forum is for discussion of The V6 Engine Itself such as Heads, Cams Intakes compression and other core engine parts
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:30 PM   #8
I liek gramer
Legacy
 
WhiteStang99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Region: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Send a message via AIM to WhiteStang99
see what happens when your posts are in the correct forums?
WhiteStang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:31 PM   #9
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
me why.

Lets keep it on the subject please
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:42 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
I know I wont get to 160mph with a chip but I don't want the chip I change into to restrict me from going to 160mph. I plan on doing those mods. I race a lot on freeway and can't compete with V-4s since they go over 120mph and leave me behind.
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
**pm him with that please

Brent



sorry boss
232stang
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:53 PM   #12
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
There is no such thing as a V-4 only Inline 4's. Anyways your looking at some serious money for this kind of work.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 06:09 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
Wait so Hondas, Celicas and the rest aren't V-4 they're Inline 4
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 06:11 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
yes nobody make v-4's that i know of there all inline even a focus is inline.
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 06:23 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
So why are they called inline and what does the V in V-6 and V-8 mean?
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 06:34 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
Is it Valves?
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 06:38 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
So which chip should I get and what should I expect with no other modifications aside from the chip.
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 06:56 PM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
Not all of the 2004 model year are 3.9. I think they switched about halfway through the production run.
tippie2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 07:02 PM   #19
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by megax29
Is it Valves?
The shape of the block resembles a V... it means that you have 3 cylinders on the left side of the block and 3 cylinders on the right side of the block. Inline all cylinders are inline with each other
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 07:03 PM   #20
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by megax29
So which chip should I get and what should I expect with no other modifications aside from the chip.
Contact americanmotorsport @ info@americanmotorsport.com It will cost you 325 dollars I think for the chip.

You will see maybe 10 hp on premium fuel and thats it. Plus better shifts
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 07:19 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Maryland
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to Matt@StangMods
You can get an SCT chip from American Motorsports and it will improve the shifting of your tranny and it will remove the speed limiter. You will also gain a little bit of HP and torque. Sinister from American Motorsports knows the V6 inside and out. Get one from them, they know their stuff.
Matt@StangMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 07:34 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
first mod your car with gears and other things then get the chip so the chip can help make those mods work better
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 12:07 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
232stang does it matter what order my mods are made? What's the very firstthiing I should change in motor? I went to local mechanic and he suggested computer chip over 4.10 rear gears.
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 12:29 PM   #24
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
I re did this last night.

This will get you a good understanding

http://www.mustang-forums.com/forums...ead.php?t=5654
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 12:33 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
brent did a very good job organizing the link on how to mod your car just follow that and you will get a good street machine
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 03:13 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
what's a naturally aspirated car and what's a blown? I went to a mechanic and he said 4.10 gears would raise my rpm a lot on freeway at 70mph it would raise rpm from current 2100 to around 3000 as a result of the gear change. Eventually he said it would burn out my engine. Which cold air intake you recommend and where do i find a shift kit?
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:23 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
gears would not burn your engine please do me a favor and ***** slap that mechanic.get an ebay cold air intake.i think transgo makes a shift kit for your car.the difference between na and a blown car is that a blown car uses forced induction while a natturaly aspirated car uses the power generated with the motor only.a forced induction system is like a turbo charger or a supercharger. a turbo uses your exhaust to make energy and supercharger uses power with your belt which turns its pulley and makes power. by forcing air into your car and therefore asking your car for more gas and it makes more power but a couple of fuel system upgrades will have to be done to take advantage of a blown system
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:43 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
is it true my rpm will be raised at stop, accelaration and cruising. What if I go 3.73 and does anyone know what gears I have now? 2004 3.9L automatic.
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 06:44 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
if you have an auto go with 4.10 at a stop you wont rev more. but you will see a drop in gas mielage, noting bad to the engine.
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 11:14 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
megax29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Texas
Posts: 349
Send a message via AIM to megax29 Send a message via Yahoo to megax29
drop in gas mileage=drop in gas efficiency? why is this so...would I benefit from 3.73? how much should labor cost me? local mechanic says he'll do it for 300 aside from parts. if i make the change to an 8.8" 4.10 gears what other parts would I need, I heard I needed a bearing kit. What changes will I notice after getting 4.10s?
megax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 11:31 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Region: California
Posts: 4,272
if you really plan on making very serious power then get the 8.8. gears will make you have faster accelaration. if you go with 4.10 with your 7.5 make sure to buy a t-lok

t-lok http://www.gefracing.com/Merchant2/m...egory_Code=38L

4.10's http://www.gefracing.com/Merchant2/m...egory_Code=38L

also go to www.v6mustangstuff.com they have them threr too
STEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 02:38 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1quick6
You can get an SCT chip from American Motorsports and it will improve the shifting of your tranny and it will remove the speed limiter. You will also gain a little bit of HP and torque. Sinister from American Motorsports knows the V6 inside and out. Get one from them, they know their stuff.
Rememeber though, there is no "s" at the end..
__________________
Alberto@American MotorSport

www.americanmotorsport.com

Supercharged '00 4.2L Mustang, 5-sp
-Vortech (custom setup using 94-98 kit), 12.5psi, IMRC's, custom power pipe, 80mm Lightning MAF, 42# injectors, FMS 8.8 rear-end, 300lph returnless pump, polished '99 Cobra's, Tri-ax shifter, 160° thermostat, FMS Aluminum Driveshaft, high-flow H

313rwhp/311rwtq
americanmotorsport.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
google computers w/ own OS Dark02Pony The Bar 6 01-18-2006 07:04 PM
UpDate your Computers NOW ComputerGuy The Bar 7 01-06-2006 10:16 AM
question... linking 2 computers... jimmy_beaner The Bar 8 11-24-2005 12:24 PM
Who here builds there own computers SpectorV The Bar 26 01-14-2005 02:59 PM
Computers In Our Stangs... PuReHeLL Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 16 03-07-2004 12:50 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:06 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.