problem with ported upper installation. HELP!!! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-06-2004, 11:40 AM   #1
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
problem with ported upper installation. HELP!!! **FIXED!!!**

Ok yesterday me and jeremy (Horse) put my ported upper on my car. We got everything back together and started the car up... started fine then went down to where it idles and started sputtering and dropping to like 200 rpms and eventually died. Well we looked under the hood and realized we forgot to reconnect the egr pipe to the egr valve... so after an annoying fix with that we finally got it put into place and started it again. It did the same thing. This time though there's a high pitch whistling sound and itll sit there and idle rough for a while, but takes longer to actually stall the car. So yesterday i was driving it cause i thought id just need to keep the idle RPMs up so the car wouldnt die, but as im driving it i would be driving and then lose all repsonse from the throttle... it even stalled out on me once so i just took the car home to let it sit and drove my dads the rest of the night. IM not really sure whats wrong here... the only thing that me and jeremy could come up with is that maybe the metal gakset that goes between the EGR valve and the upper intake is shot and is creating a bad exhaust leak so im going to try replacing that today. Does anyone else have any suggestions on what might be wrong? Im pretty sure ive connected all the vacuum lines but Ill be double checking that today as well. Any ideas?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2004, 11:52 AM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
MarkuzLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via AIM to MarkuzLS1
I'd double check all the vacuum lines and sensor connections. Is the gasket between the upper and lower good? It sounds like a bad vacuum leak, to me.
__________________

I like turtles.
MarkuzLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 12:00 PM   #3
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
yeah i replaced both the gasket between the upper and lower, and the throttle body gasket
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2004, 12:14 PM   #4
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Corey Any Ideas???!!!
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 01:22 PM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
They is a gasket that goes between the EGR and the upper intake. you might have a EGR problem. You could have the vacume tubes hooked up wrong. Tke the vacume tube off the saucer shaped vacuum cannister and hold your finger over the vacuum line and see if it changes anything. Next chech the cannister by when it is cold see if it is holding a vacuum take a hose on it and use your mouth to create a vacuum ( if you dont have a Vaccume tool) and see it it holds.

Did you use your EGR from your car???
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 01:25 PM   #6
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
yeah i used the EGR from my car, just swapped the intake over. Im gonna go try those two things right now... but before i did this i wasnt having any problems with my egr, why would it act up now?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 01:35 PM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
You just never know
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 01:35 PM   #8
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
ok i think i found the problem. That line that connect to the underside of the intake was loose, i pushed it in as much as i could wihtout compeltely taking of the intake again and it does run better.. it doesnt stutter out and die anymore. Now i just gotta make sure that thing is nice and tight on there. I dont know how that cme off, i specifically remember putting it on there nice and tight. Basically i just listened where the noise was coming from and stuck my fingers under there to see if i could feel anything. Sure enough it felt loose and i could feel a vaccuum suck my finger against that area so now i just have to get it snug on there. Thank god...
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 01:36 PM   #9
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
im gonna run down to the gas station and see how it does on a short drive. ILl be back and ill update you on how it is
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 01:49 PM   #10
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
alright.. well it doesnt stutter out and die anymore but it still isnt driving right. If im goin faster than like 35mph its like the transmission puts itself into neutral and just wont give any reponse to the engine. Alsmost like my car turns off, then itll start responding to the throttle again out of nowhere. This frickin blows... god dammit
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 02:05 PM   #11
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
Danger Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 5,187
Send a message via AIM to Danger Dude
That almost sounds like a Throttle Position Sensor. Did you use a different T/B
__________________
Danger Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 02:10 PM   #12
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
not a different one no... we half shafted the TB when we took it off though
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 02:12 PM   #13
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
the thing is its still whistling under the hood when the throttle is just hardly engaged... its a pretty loud whistling noise and i just cant seem to tell where its coming from. This is really gettin me discouraged, now i have to wait longer to head back to school cause im gonna have to take my damn car into a shop.. god dammit this blows
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:11 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
have someone run your engine up while you spot the leak .. it sounds like a throttle sensor to me, electrical parts are real sensitive sometimes and simply moving them around can screw them up. could have loosened the connection while you had the tb off
__________________
http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...ine=1089763695
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy_beaner
This is America, where every vote counts, unless it's a vote for a Democrat.
thirstymate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:12 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
that would be why it only happens sometimes
__________________
http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...ine=1089763695
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy_beaner
This is America, where every vote counts, unless it's a vote for a Democrat.
thirstymate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:14 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
also is it a cut and weld intake.. if so they could have missed a weld
dont know if you have the time but if it is a cut and weld intake id take it back off and pressure test it. if it leaks, then thad be your whistle
__________________
http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...ine=1089763695
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy_beaner
This is America, where every vote counts, unless it's a vote for a Democrat.
thirstymate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:14 PM   #17
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
no its not cut and weld...
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:26 PM   #18
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
i think im just gonna bite the bullet and take it to a stupid shop.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:42 PM   #19
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
Mike, well I would try first, you might have gotten the idle air control and the EGR connectors mixed up, so that could be a problem. So it's not relaying any info to your DFPE? or your IAC. You could try that cause they look the same, and finally I don't think anything is really wrong with the intake or your vaccum, maybe you half shaft and polished something too much? But I'd be willing to bet you got those connectors mixed up.
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:45 PM   #20
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
can you tell me what those two look like? are you talkin about the things that plug onto the sensors?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:51 PM   #21
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
yup, i sure am, it should take about a whole 2 second to switch them. The question is do you know what two I'm talking about?
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:55 PM   #22
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
Just in case you don't know, and I'm just doing this just in case to make it easier, but on top of the Throttle body is the IAC that the connector and the device that bridges between the Throttle body and the intake is the DFPE, look for a connector on that that looks just like the one from the IAC. And finally there's another connector on that device, make sure it's gray and not black, ok?
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 03:58 PM   #23
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
which one gets the gray one? The IAC or the DFPE?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:06 PM   #24
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
the two connectors that i see that look alike are on that thing that bridges from the TB to the intake, and that sensor thats not directly on top of the TB, but rather sits kind of on the side closest to the firewall. Are those what youre talking about?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:11 PM   #25
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
here... are these what youre talking about?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:20 PM   #26
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
If that picture was taken right now, then those are in the right spots, I marked the other two, check those. They should look the same.
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:21 PM   #27
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
yeah i just went out and took that... i dont know wtf the problem is and its really pissin me off
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:22 PM   #28
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
One other thing, the bottom of that DFPE thing is suppose to have 2 hose attached to it coming from the EGR tube, are those attached to that DFPE device?
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:24 PM   #29
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
yeah theyre on there
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:24 PM   #30
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
OK, let me study the picture for a minute, maybe it's one of those too obvioius things
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:33 PM   #31
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
97Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Region: Missouri
Posts: 1,461
Send a message via AIM to 97Stallion Send a message via MSN to 97Stallion
hmm, i can't find anything obviously wrong from that pic. Too bad you didn't move with me, if I was in Omaha I'd be able to help ya in person. Can you maybe take more pics maybe of the whole engine bay and one from the other direction. And I've never worked on 94-95 V6's but I know there intakes only have one huge vaccum port and the 96-98's have 2. Are you guy short a vaccum line, or did we get added something? I've always wondered this.
__________________

60' ~ 2.1, 1/8 ~ 9.61 @ 73.4mph
Living one day at a time!

DAMN Those are some old *** numbers!!! I need updated ones!!
97Stallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:35 PM   #32
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
im not sure what the deal with it is, but this intake came off another 95 so there shouldnt be any extra vacuum tubes or anything anywhere on it. Let me see if i can get you some video of how it sounds... gimme a couple mins
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:39 PM   #33
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
ok i got video, im uploading them and ill let you know when theyre done. The paths will be

www.ponypanels.com/zim/MOV00434.MPG and
www.ponypanels.com/zim/MOV00435.MPG
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:41 PM   #34
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
its gonna be about 8 more minutes
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:48 PM   #35
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
ok videos should be up... check it out

on the first one you can hear the whistle as it dies for sure
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > Pre-2005 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ported and Polished lower and upper intakes danstang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 15 07-19-2005 03:00 PM
Ported Upper or Lower first? ntc432 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 20 05-06-2005 08:04 AM
Stage 3 Ported Upper Intake from RGR Brent Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 4 02-08-2005 01:56 PM
Powdercoated & Ported 99+ Upper Intake stangin99 Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 5 04-28-2004 11:29 AM
Pro Ported upper intake plenum on my 4.6L 99+.... Rick0636 The Bar 8 01-15-2004 08:43 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



04:33 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.