Plug Gap - Informational Thread - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-14-2005, 02:56 PM   #1
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Plug Gap - Informational Thread

Stock plug gap on the 5.0 is .052 +/- a couple thousandths. The larger plug gap will start easier and burn cleaner, however you may start misfiring at high RPM's. For N/A applications, a .042 is very common, and supercharged or nitrous applications a .030 is common.

Just thought Id share, I looked for this info for a while today, hopefully it helps someone else out.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-14-2005, 04:29 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Tbird232ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via AIM to Tbird232ci
for supercharged/turbocharged, i generally see .032-.035, .030 might be a little too tight
Tbird232ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:49 PM   #3
15.3 Second V8 Killer Yo
Legacy
Regular
 
PureVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 7,212
Send a message via AIM to PureVenom Send a message via MSN to PureVenom Send a message via Yahoo to PureVenom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tbird232ci
for supercharged/turbocharged, i generally see .032-.035, .030 might be a little too tight
I have been recommended to use 0.35-0.38. I have read people ramble about using upwards of 0.45 on the cobras, but since they get hammered real fast on that, I am thinking they are wrong.
__________________
"When I know more, I'll be forthcoming. Or I won't be forthcoming, and I'll be honestly deceptive." - Les Miles
PureVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-14-2005, 04:50 PM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Tbird232ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via AIM to Tbird232ci
well, my information is based on a distributor car, with copper tip plugs

im not sure if the 03-04 Cobras, or DIS cars would require a different gap, and/or a plug other than a copper
Tbird232ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:58 PM   #5
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
All i know is when I pulled my plugs today, the moron had gapped them at .030. When I replaced them, I gapped them at .042 and the car runs sooooo much better. Smooth all the way through the RPM bands, no more bucking me around without enough gas, etc. I dunon wtf the guy was thinking when he gapped at .030 2:
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 05:06 PM   #6
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Region: Florida
Posts: 14
Stock gap is between 52-56 for n/a 42 is still to low.
wytstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 09:58 PM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Tbird232ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via AIM to Tbird232ci
i actually gapped my 3.8L plugs at .035 not thinking, it runs suprisingly well
Tbird232ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 10:43 PM   #8
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
I just tried running my car up past 4500 RPMS, the thing died out on me... im gonna gap them at .034ish tommorow.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 12:42 PM   #9
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Region: Florida
Posts: 14
Zimstang 34 is way to small of a gap for n/a aplications. Looking at your mods listed the stock setting is what you will need, gap them at 54 (stock is 52-56).
wytstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 01:03 PM   #10
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
They were gapped at .030 when I pulled the old ones out, and it ran ok like that
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 01:09 PM   #11
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Region: Florida
Posts: 14
Supercharged/turbo stangs run them that low if they go any wider they will blow th spark out, but n/a needs some gap too small of a gap and it will not ignite(sp?) the air/fuel mixture. Do a search on stangnet/corral and you'll see you need some gap.
wytstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 01:25 PM   #12
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
I agree with you, I know it needs to be something different... I just dont understand why he had them gapped at 30 and then When i regapped them at 42 it misfires above 4500 RPMs
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 01:29 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Region: Florida
Posts: 14
Here some info here http://www.corral.net/forums/showthr...ght=spark+plug

http://www.corral.net/forums/showthr...ght=spark+plug

http://forums.stangnet.com/showthrea...ght=spark+plug
wytstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 03:20 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
Tbird232ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via AIM to Tbird232ci
what plugs are you using?
Tbird232ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 12:14 PM   #15
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Autolite 764s
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 07:43 PM   #16
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
im sick and ****ing tired of these problems. Today I went and gapped them at .052, drove it in the low RPMs it was fine, hell it was even fine if I went in high rpms just not romping on the throttle... then i tried WOT runs, POP POP POP POP VROOOOOOOOOM without the "go" part of vroom. At 4k rpms, the POS backfired like it was its job, and then the rpms just flew up without my car having ANY power at all. WTF IS THE DEAL?? Is my timing ****ed up? Maybe too advanced? I havnt touched anything to do with the timing... but I dont know wtf is wrong when Ive gapped the plugs at .030, .042, and .052 and the same problem occurs EVERY TIME. Anyone that has anything that might help me here... please let me know what I can do. Id like to drive this god damn car that I paid for sometime soon.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 08:15 PM   #17
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimStang
im sick and ****ing tired of these problems. Today I went and gapped them at .052, drove it in the low RPMs it was fine, hell it was even fine if I went in high rpms just not romping on the throttle... then i tried WOT runs, POP POP POP POP VROOOOOOOOOM without the "go" part of vroom. At 4k rpms, the POS backfired like it was its job, and then the rpms just flew up without my car having ANY power at all. WTF IS THE DEAL?? Is my timing ****ed up? Maybe too advanced? I havnt touched anything to do with the timing... but I dont know wtf is wrong when Ive gapped the plugs at .030, .042, and .052 and the same problem occurs EVERY TIME. Anyone that has anything that might help me here... please let me know what I can do. Id like to drive this god damn car that I paid for sometime soon.
Do a complete tune up... replace the wires... could be arching.... dunno what else to tell you.. if its not one of those then if it has a chip in it that could be it... or its something internal?
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 08:20 PM   #18
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Ive replaced the plugs, and now wires, and it still does it. I dont think it has a chip in it... who knows though, I guess I could check.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 10:41 PM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Region: Florida
Posts: 14
Did you do any mods prior to this backfiring???
__________________
Cooking Rice: Measure out 300+rwhp, add 1 tbsp. of blue oval, and 15" of MT's. Line up to rice and rapidly start smoking! Cook for 1320ft or until thoroughly done. :D
wytstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 10:43 PM   #20
Registered User
Regular
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 11,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by wytstang
Did you do any mods prior to this backfiring???
He bought the car with the mods listed.
__________________

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 10:48 PM   #21
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by wytstang
Did you do any mods prior to this backfiring???
havnt done a thing to it besides these plugs.
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 10:57 PM   #22
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
slvr2000stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,160
Double check your timing just to be safe.
__________________
Custom Delk motor now DOA
2003 SVT Lightning #1059 of 4270
2000 Vert 4R70W
Only buy from vendors that test and stand behind their products
slvr2000stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 11:06 PM   #23
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Region: Florida
Posts: 14
It sounds like you spark plug wires are failing under a load. Try putting the car under a load ex. ebrake on, one foot pressing on the brake using your heal while using your toes to press the gas. I had a 93 crown vic once that started missing/shuttering at 70mph only, I was servicing the tranny thinking that was it. Turned out the wires would fail while under a certain load it was weird.
__________________
Cooking Rice: Measure out 300+rwhp, add 1 tbsp. of blue oval, and 15" of MT's. Line up to rice and rapidly start smoking! Cook for 1320ft or until thoroughly done. :D
wytstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 12:45 PM   #24
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Region: New York
Posts: 14
Re: Plug Gap - Informational Thread

do you use a capacitive discharge ignition system?
i have a msd 6a and have opened the gap to .070 on my 347 stroker with 10.6 compression. That friggin ignition will send a spark over an inch out of the coil wire and scare the hell out of ya-
kurt herold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 06:28 PM   #25
Zim
You want to **** me?
Legacy
 
Zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas City
Region: Missouri
Posts: 4,043
Re: Plug Gap - Informational Thread

holy jesus... whats with reviving all these ancient posts?
__________________

I like toys
Zim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spark Plug Gap greenpony02 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 04-16-2006 12:49 PM
spark plug gap mustangruss Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 12-23-2005 04:37 PM
Spark Plug gap. steedav6builder Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 15 04-25-2005 08:00 PM
lol after the thread was closed to that political thread the guy pmed me this Brent The Bar 7 05-18-2004 09:51 PM
Plug gap size slow232 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 11 10-12-2003 06:24 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:32 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.