need help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-13-2011, 10:24 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
need help

Originally Posted by ponyexpress
I have a 1988 Mustang GT with Ho302 5 speed. It was running then just shut down. Checked timing, firing. Need advise to what could be making my car not run. Has new computer, new fuel rail and injectors, new fuel pump, new fuel relay, new plugs and wires, new starter, new fuel regulator, new coil and new tfi sensor. And still nothing put on scanner no codes showed up. I've got raw fuel coming out my spark plug. It ran for a minute then shut off and has not started since.

ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2011, 10:31 PM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress View Post
Originally Posted by ponyexpress
I have a 1988 Mustang GT with Ho302 5 speed. It was running then just shut down. Checked timing, firing. Need advise to what could be making my car not run. Has new computer, new fuel rail and injectors, new fuel pump, new fuel relay, new plugs and wires, new starter, new fuel regulator, new coil and new tfi sensor. And still nothing put on scanner no codes showed up. I've got raw fuel coming out my spark plug. It ran for a minute then shut off and has not started since.

Sounds like you may possibly have injectors stuck open.
Have you checked your fuel pressure?

Are you sure the timing is correct?
The timing chain may have failed.

Make sure you have fire to the plugs?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:36 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I've checked the fuel pressure and timing is correct. Maybe injector.. I'll check that. I did replace injectors. hmmm? Let you know if thats problem.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2011, 10:44 PM   #4
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress View Post
I've checked the fuel pressure and timing is correct. Maybe injector.. I'll check that. I did replace injectors. hmmm? Let you know if thats problem.
Check all of your ground wires to ensure they have a good connection.
Especially the computer and engine grounds.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:55 PM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I checked ground wires today all were good. 3 of the plugs I pulled I had raw fuel and you could tell plugs were not firing, the wires had fire but plugs none.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:04 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Knight F Mohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 519
Send a message via AIM to Knight F Mohawk
Re: need help

If you have a spare TFI module, test it out.

Pull the dist. cap and make sure all is well in there.

It's pretty much impossible for your wires to get spark but your plugs to get none.....it's more likely that they're just not firing at the right time.

-Will
__________________
Waffles
Knight F Mohawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:09 PM   #7
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

Already replaced TFI module. New rotor as well.. After it sets a day it will start then nothing.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:14 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Knight F Mohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 519
Send a message via AIM to Knight F Mohawk
Re: need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress View Post
Already replaced TFI module. New rotor as well.. After it sets a day it will start then nothing.
If you know anybody with a spare fuel pressure regulator, swap them out and see if that fixes it.

Also, get a test light or multimeter and find out if the injectors are pulsing properly.

-Will
__________________
Waffles
Knight F Mohawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:24 PM   #9
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I got a spare fuel pressure regulator I'll swap it out.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:20 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Greg687's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 126
Re: need help

Well, right now it sounds like it's flooded. Raw fuel is too rich to burn, so even if you do get spark it won't ignite. While you are doing all of this pull the plugs and let the cylinders dry out.

If it's that flooded, make sure you didn't get gas in the oil. Pull the stick and give it a sniff. Raw gas can slip past the rings and dilute the oil, which is bad. If it happens change the oil before you run it any length of time.
Greg687 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:42 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
wereKEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: California
Posts: 1,863
Re: need help

Also check the fuel pump shut off switch in the trunk it could have to be reset.
wereKEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 11:34 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
86gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 333
Is it turning over but not starting or is it not doing anything? If it's not doing anything make sure to connector is tight to the computer and if it is turning over and your getting spark to the plugs and you say the timing is correct...double check to make sure that it is wired in the right firing order!!!
86gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:43 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I can not get my mustang to idle hot start or cold start. I changed the tps and still will not set and idle. I can take the screws out of tps and turn it by hand and yes it will idle but its not idling when i put screws back in because its not wanting to stay set where it needs too. Any suggestions.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:46 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress
I can not get my mustang to idle hot start or cold start. I changed the tps and still will not set and idle. I can take the screws out of tps and turn it by hand and yes it will idle but its not idling when i put screws back in because its not wanting to stay set where it needs too. Any suggestions.
Ok. Sounds funny but I know on the older cars that if the temp sensor went out the car would barely run. Have you checked that?
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:49 PM   #15
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress View Post
I can not get my mustang to idle hot start or cold start. I changed the tps and still will not set and idle. I can take the screws out of tps and turn it by hand and yes it will idle but its not idling when i put screws back in because its not wanting to stay set where it needs too. Any suggestions.
Has the engine been converted to MAF or is it a Speed Density ECU?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:49 PM   #16
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I have replaced every sensor on this car. I can get her to run as long as I am holding tps and turning it but as soon as I let it go it over she dies.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:50 PM   #17
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress
I have replaced every sensor on this car. I can get her to run as long as I am holding tps and turning it but as soon as I let it go it over she dies.
Need a new tps?
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:50 PM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

MAF and I have replaced this as well.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:51 PM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I Just bought this one and put it on today.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:52 PM   #20
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Might just have too much resistance in the wires running to the tps. Check the harness for corrosion
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:54 PM   #21
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

No corrosion.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:55 PM   #22
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress
No corrosion.
Is the adjustment screw on the throttle body closed too much? Idk what else there really is to check. If you've replaced all sensors
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:59 PM   #23
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I was wondering the same thing. I will check that and get back with you thanks
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 02:01 PM   #24
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyexpress
I was wondering the same thing. I will check that and get back with you thanks
No problem. Hopefully that's what it is
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 02:34 PM   #25
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texastboneking View Post
No problem. Hopefully that's what it is
You cannot just indiscriminately turn screws and twist components.
There is a procedure to follow when you are setting the idle.
Do you have a manual for the car that shows the procedure??
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 02:58 PM   #26
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

You cannot just indiscriminately turn screws and twist components.
There is a procedure to follow when you are setting the idle.
Do you have a manual for the car that shows the procedure??
I might can get one. He can adjust it and if the idle improves then he knows that may be the problem. But I'm pretty sure he will need a computer to do this accurately. An the old diagnostic hookup is not a common thing he might have.
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:09 PM   #27
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texastboneking View Post
I might can get one. He can adjust it and if the idle improves then he knows that may be the problem. But I'm pretty sure he will need a computer to do this accurately. An the old diagnostic hookup is not a common thing he might have.
He's a she. .. and I salute you ponyexpress.
Not many females will attempt to work on their vehicles.
I taught all of my daughters the basics and they work on their own vehicles now.

Shouldn't need a computer to set the idle, should she?
I never used one on my 86, 89 or 95.
I'm sure I have a manual with the procedure, but my scanner is busted.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:13 PM   #28
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

Shouldn't need a computer to set the idle?
I never used one on my 86, 89 or 95.
I'm sure I have a manual with the procedure, but my scanner is busted.
I guess I'm not thinking old enough. On the cars I've worked on you had to be connected to the computer to watch tps voltage while setting the screw for idle. Not sure about the older cars that's why I said he might need to be connected.
Now see if I'm right. If he goes and buys a new throttle body it should be set to the right spot right?
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:15 PM   #29
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: need help

On a fox you use a multi-meter voltage tester.
A new one won't necessarily be correct, just like a new carb should always be tuned.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:27 PM   #30
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse
On a fox you use a multi-meter voltage tester.
A new one won't necessarily be correct, just like a new carb should always be tuned.
Hmm good to know
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:28 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Here is a link on how to reset the base idle so we don't have to type all the info...

http://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums...dle-reset.html
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:29 PM   #32
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via Skype™ to Texastboneking
Re: need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93slowstang View Post
Here is a link on how to reset the base idle so we don't have to type all the info...

5.0 Base Idle Reset
lol where the heck did you come from??? good find though
Texastboneking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:14 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texastboneking

lol where the heck did you come from??? good find though
I came from here...lol. I saved that link from when I did my h/c/i and tb.
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:37 PM   #34
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

Its not the screw.. I am a she and thanks. Still not idling. I put it on scanner no codes show. It has to do with that tps I put it on nothing take screws out of the tps and turn tps to open throttle by hand and it will run of course at high rpms. Out of options....
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:39 PM   #35
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 19
Re: need help

I used a digital multimeter shows 1v which is okay considering it's a HO302.
ponyexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:34 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.