Speedometer help! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-03-2011, 06:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Speedometer help!

I have a 89 gt 5.0.my speedometer goes to 85 top speed. What changes or replace do I have to do so it can go to 140 mph. Most people say change the transmission and some say the gears so I just want to know more opinions.. Thanks!!
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2011, 06:58 PM   #2
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Speedometer help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89 Foxloco View Post
I have a 89 gt 5.0.my speedometer goes to 85 top speed. What changes or replace do I have to do so it can go to 140 mph. Most people say change the transmission and some say the gears so I just want to know more opinions.. Thanks!!
You asked how to have a speedometer that goes to 140 MPH correct?
If yes, then:
D. None of the above.

To have a speedometer that reads to 140 MPH you will have to replace it with one that goes that far. 140 MPH Speedo
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:53 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
No..ok..my original cluster says 85 mph top.. I have another cluster that says 140 mph.I installed out but the needle kept reading the speed of the 85 on the 140.hope I explain my self good..am trying to make my car go more than 85 top speed.so I would like to know what I need to change.. Thank you..
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2011, 04:25 AM   #4
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Speedometer help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89 Foxloco View Post
No..ok..my original cluster says 85 mph top.. I have another cluster that says 140 mph.I installed out but the needle kept reading the speed of the 85 on the 140.hope I explain my self good..am trying to make my car go more than 85 top speed.so I would like to know what I need to change.. Thank you..
What car do you have, what engine, transmission, etc. etc.
List any modifications you have too.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:33 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
I have a 1989 mustang fox body 5.0 302 block.all stock with a manual transmission.all stock.
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 06:59 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
Supporter
 
93slowstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Walker
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89 Foxloco
I have a 1989 mustang fox body 5.0 302 block.all stock with a manual transmission.all stock.
Is it showing the correct speed, and does the car still gain speed after it stops at 85?
__________________


93 GT with more junkyard mods than you can imagine.
90 GT bone stock down to the air filter, awaiting restoration.
Join Mustang Evolution today. Click here
93slowstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:11 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
nickcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 245
Re: Speedometer help!

there might be some kind of computer chip in it that stops it at 85...
__________________
1995 Mustang GT Convertible!! (My Baby Monique) Ha
nickcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:21 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
@ 93slowstang its doesn't show the correct speed on the 140 cluster.. Yes but a lol and the transmission shakes alot when I try to push it more.. @ probably its the chip or something..
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:41 PM   #9
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Speedometer help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89 Foxloco View Post
@ 93slowstang its doesn't show the correct speed on the 140 cluster.. Yes but a lol and the transmission shakes alot when I try to push it more.. @ probably its the chip or something..
Then you may have something going wrong in the transmission.
Are you sure no one changed the gears in the rear end?
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:45 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Brandon91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Colorado
Posts: 37
You just need to buy a new cluster that goes to 140.. Then a new speedo gear that is calibrated to go to 140. That's it.
Brandon91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:11 AM   #11
Road Trip!
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Region: Missouri
Posts: 8,779
Re: Speedometer help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon91 View Post
You just need to buy a new cluster that goes to 140.. Then a new speedo gear that is calibrated to go to 140. That's it.
Sorry, but speedo gears are not "calibrated" to go 140.
All I did in my 86 GT was to install the 140 MPH speedometer into the gauge cluster.
He has some other issue or issues to sort out.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 06:06 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
I'll get opinions from other people people but thank you guys any way..it was seriously helpful..am just going to connect what you guys said with what other people say and connect it and see which one is more right..thanks..
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 04:44 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stang.racr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 915
Re: Speedometer help!

i have 91 that had a 140 on it and it messed up, i took the 140 out and replaced it with an older cluster that said 85, i made no other changes. now my speed odimiter wasn't all the way correct due to me running 28 inch tires instead of a 26 but it was pretty close. you are suppose to change your speedometer gear to correct your speedometer if you change your gears, the speedometer gear and clip kit cost 10 bucks and is easy to put in. the gear attaches to the speed sensor and it relays info to the computer to let it know the sped of the transmission output shaft. hope this helps

coming from a guy that uses tom tom cause his speedometer is a floating pos
__________________
having a fine car that is slow is like having a hot girlfriend that won't put out!
Stang.racr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:23 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
89 Foxloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 204
Awsome.thanks..I'll check that out..
89 Foxloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!!! :( vinnygt 1996-2004 Mustang GT 5 07-23-2011 11:37 PM
Free saleen speedometer Qwik Four Six 1979-1995 Mustang GT 12 06-25-2011 06:05 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:03 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.