What it takes for forced induction and much more... - Page 26 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-03-2012, 07:48 PM   #876
Road Trip!

Region: Indiana
ok . thanx. thats what i figured i just wanted to be sure.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2012, 05:38 PM   #877
Road Trip!

I didn't do the full test yet. But I hooked up a kill switch on the relay. And I just have this hunch that its not the ignition switch.

Only the battery light comes on, on the dash. And I get the 12 volts at the fuel pump relay. Normally the pump wouldn't run in this situation but mine does because I bypassed the ecu.

So I need to find where the fuel pump relay and battery light have common ground. I am studying the schematics as we speak. But I am not that great with them. It takes me a while. Lol
Old 06-04-2012, 10:53 PM   #878
Road Trip!
Supporter

Region: Missouri
Re: what it takes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
I didn't do the full test yet. But I hooked up a kill switch on the relay. And I just have this hunch that its not the ignition switch.

Only the battery light comes on, on the dash. And I get the 12 volts at the fuel pump relay. Normally the pump wouldn't run in this situation but mine does because I bypassed the ecu.

So I need to find where the fuel pump relay and battery light have common ground. I am studying the schematics as we speak. But I am not that great with them. It takes me a while. Lol
Your best bet may be to run some new wiring.
Use a wire from the ignition switch or fuse box that is only hot in the run position to energize the fuel pump relay coil.
Then you are assured that when you turn the ignition switch off the fuel pump is turned off too.
Trojan Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement