What it takes for forced induction and much more... - Page 55 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1979-1995 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-25-2012, 07:10 PM   #1891
Road Trip!

Region: Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan Horse

Yes pre-drill and chamfer the holes in the rim on both sides.

No, standard sheet metal screws are not suitable, as they are considerably weaker than the screws intended for the purpose. However it's your choice.
Wheel Rim Screws

You should pre-drill the tire beads too so you don't "force" the screw through the bead possibly separating the layers of rubber, nylon and/or steel cords.

Set up a drill bit with a "stop" such as a layer of tape wrapped around the bit so you do not drill to deep.
got it. good info as always. i am a rookie in this area, so i just want to do it right. thanx again TH.

it just seemed a littke scary drilling into a tire thats aired up. im sure i will be fine though cause, i know my way around a drill.

those kits come with 35 screws. so im guessing 8 screws on each side of rim. or is it 17 on the outside? sorry for the dumb questions...,
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-25-2012, 07:35 PM   #1892
Road Trip!
Supporter

Region: Missouri
Re: what it takes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamstang View Post
got it. good info as always. i am a rookie in this area, so i just want to do it right. thanx again TH.

it just seemed a littke scary drilling into a tire thats aired up. im sure i will be fine though cause, i know my way around a drill.

those kits come with 35 screws. so im guessing 8 screws on each side of rim. or is it 17 on the outside? sorry for the dumb questions...,
They're not dumb, that's how we all learn.

I would put 8 on each side of the rim.
Use the three leftover for spares if you need them.